In the beginning…

I always feel awkward with beginnings, so don’t mind me while I dive right in, okay?

I’m excited to be here, at the start of what I’m viewing as getting my body back on track after an almost two-year slump. Gah, it sucks admiting that. After spending most of my 20’s and a good part of my 30’s having my weight be in the 115 to 125 range with not a whole lot of effort on my part, a few things over the past couple of years have led me to where I am now, an embarrassing 155. Seeing it in writing is almost as hard as seeing it in the mirror, but I guess that’s the whole point. I’m all about the before/after pictures and documenting all my progress along the way.

This is a very personal endeavor and what works for one person doesn’t necessarily do the trick for someone else. I personally believe a lot of it is a mind game as well, making little deals and bargains with yourself, changing little things in your routine enough so that it hopefully all adds up to a significant lifestyle change. Right now, I don’t so much have a solid plan in mind as much I have a goal and that goal is to lose the 30 pounds I’ve allowed to creep up on me and stick like fatty glue (nice visual).

In my experience, I’m way more successful adding exercise into my life as opposed to subtracting food. I realize I also need to change some eating habits; I mean, those pounds didn’t just appear out of thin (or fat) air, but what I’m concentrating on for now is getting back into the habit of working out. Whether that means brisk 30-minute walks through my hilly neighborhood, using my portable step machine in front of the TV, utilizing one of the two FREE gyms I have access to at work, or killing myself slowly with the 30-Day Shred, I plan on doing something every day. At least for now, it’s got to be every day. Because I know myself. As soon as these beshitted size 12’s are loose again, I’m going to be very excited and motivated to take it to the next level.

The temptation of course, is to go for the quick fix. We are a nation of people who crave and often enjoy instant gratification and believe me, I’m not immune. The little (chubby) devil on my shoulder has been whispering things like, “Why not just cut out all carbs for a month,” or “You know the doctor would write you a ‘script for those crack pills some of your friends use,” but no. As much as I’d be tickled pink being beach-ready by the time July 4th rolls around, I know that’s not the answer for the long-term.

So, here I am, ready to fight the good fight. I’ve always been an obessive list maker and journal keeper and I’m hoping by doing this, this putting it all out there, I’ll be able to hold myself more accountable while also enjoy seeing how far I’ve come.

And yeah, I plan to get as far away from this as possible.

2 Responses to In the beginning…

  1. Laura says:

    Wow. It’s unreal how similar we are in goals – I’m at 152 and want to lose about 30, too, though I’d be happy to just be at 130 again. AND I’m better at adding exercise than subtracting food.

    This joint blog was the best idea we’ve ever had! 😀

  2. Kimmothy says:

    Damn, I forgot to add that I’m 5’4″.
    Because I’m 5’4″. And I do think height is relevant to the big picture.

    And yes, this blog was pure genius!

Leave a Reply

