Before, After, During

One of the many dieting tips I’ve read over the years is not to dwell on what you weigh and not to become a slave to the scale. If you’re on a long-term self-improvement plan, your goal should be to get healthier amd stonger and not worry so much about the numbers.

I call bullshit.

Whenever I’ve started and maintained a work-out routine, of course I’ve noticed the many benefits of it – the sleeping better at night, my lower back not giving me its usual hell, the ability to open a pickle jar without any assistance from the Man. But I know myself pretty well. When I’m working my ass off at something, part of the satisfaction for me is charting the progress. And while there is more than one payoff in a situation like this (fitting back into my clothes currently ranks at the top of that list), seeing the numbers slowly dwindle  is a big part of that for me.

So! With that in mind, I’m off to the big W today to purchase a bright and shiny new digital scale (is there really any other kind?) Considering I’m going to be writing about all my trials, tribulations and triumphs here, I figure why not be able to document the actual numbers as well. While I don’t think it’s necessarily a good idea for me to weigh every day, for the time being I think that’s probably going to be the way it is. Does that make me a slave to it? Hey, whatever works.

Here’s something else I’ve been sort of toying with as well. The dreaded Before/After pictures. While taking (and posting!) a picture of myself right now is about as tempting as drinking a big frosty cup of bleach, I am really, REALLY inspired by them. It’s my favorite part of watching The Biggest Loser. I mean, you’re watching these people week after week and it’s cool. Then after a month or so, they put up those Before pictures and it’s shocking. You don’t realize when you see someone, especially yourself, every day, the transformation that’s taking place. But to have some solid evidence of how far you’ve come, well I think that would be really cool. I haven’t completely made up my mind yet, though if I’m going to do it accurately, I realize the time has to be fairly soon. But oh boy, just thinking about it has me wanting to run right to the toilet.

Hey – maybe I just stumbled on a great new dieting trick! Ahem.

5 Responses to Before, After, During

  1. Laura says:

    Hee! It’s kind of like the big weight watchers weigh in, huh? You’re motivated to keep at it because you don’t want to be humiliated by a gain in front of All. Those. People. Hey, maybe we should post start/current/goal stats on our About page? Weight and measurements, and start/current pics? In shorts and a sports bra, of course, DESPITE what my darling husband so helpfully recommended in the comments over at Snerkology. The dog. The mere thought of posting “revealing” pics of my current body makes me vaguely ill, but maybe that’s the kick in the ass I need!!!

  2. Laura says:

    Also, have you read Robyn over at Bitchypoo/OneFatBitchypoo? She did progress pics that are AMAZING. Check ’em out.

  3. Kimmothy says:

    Okay, well even though I’m very horrified at what the scale just said, I think taking pictures is a really good idea. Now whenever I get brave enough to actually POST them is another story altogether…but that reminds me – I need to get a good sports bra.

  4. I think at the beginning, especially with you women and your water retention and monthly visitor…that daily viwing of the scale can be more of a deterent than a benefit.

    Think of a week that you have spent working out five days in a row, ate what you were supposed to eat and still gain a pound. That WILL happen and it will be a kick in the stomach. It is enough to make a person stop exercising.

    • Laura says:

      See, that’s where my background in statistics comes in handy – as long as I see the data trending downward, I don’t flip out if I see a day-over-day gain in weight. Though I can’t say I have NO emotional response at all to it – I try to view it as a motivating factor to try harder.

Leave a Reply

