The first step

Or two, or two hundred, or two thousand.  I lost count.

This morning was my first day of routine-building.  I got up at 5:30 and dawn was breaking as I was hiking up the hill behind my house.  It was a walk, not a run, but considering that it was a mile or so and about a third of it is on a 25- or 30-degree grade, my legs were a-hurtin’ and my heart was a-poundin’.  

Still, it felt good to be doing something.  And it was nice to be outside at daybreak, too.  Bonus.

12 Responses to The first step

  1. Laura says:

    I wish we had a scenic area nearby to hike. I hate living in the middle of the city.

    Good on ya!

  2. dyskinesia says:

    I’m happy for you baby!

    (and if anyone wonders, YES, I was ASLEEP!)

  3. Kimmothy says:

    Uh, how is it that Laura was awake to comment first on this? Just wondering.
    I love the early morning walks. Most days I don’t manage to drag my ass out of bed early enough, but yesterday morning I did, only to find it was raining. Same thing this morning. Oh well; it sounds like you got a good start to the day.

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    Update: I measured it this morning (after hitting it again, a few minutes earlier this time) by driving it and checking the odometer. It was somewhere between 1.7 and 1.8 miles.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I’m also wondering how it’s light enough for you at 5:30 – sunrise here isn’t until 6:15 or so and even then it’s pretty dark!

      • Taoist Biker says:

        I said “hike” and I’ll stand by it, but it’s still a city street. It’s got streetlights. Back during the Bad Time I used to occasionally make that walk at 4am just because I was awake and I might as well burn off some anger.

  5. […] under Life and other states of existence Leave a Comment  This morning, as I was taking my morning walk, I saw something cross the road about fifty yards ahead of me.  It was far enough away that I […]

Leave a Reply

