A terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad day

I have been doing pretty good as far as my exercise program is going. I have been sweating every day and feel good about this new running thing I’m getting into. BUT, when I weighed myself this past week…..nothing!  I know something is happening because my clothes fit better, especially in the nether regions and my arms seem to be getting some definition reminiscent of days of yore. I feel better. I feel stronger. What the hell?  Could my scale be broken?

So, back to reality, and I realize that I will have to adjust my eating habits to get this ball rolling. So, this morning I have a boiled egg and black coffee for breakfast. And mentally plan out what I will have the rest of the day to stay on track. I do believe planning ahead is a major key to eating healthily. So, anyway, I head out to the porch do some morning writing and Leila heads out with me to blow some morning bubbles. I am writing and doing my affirmations…..Life is Easy….I choose to allow all good into my life…Abundance is flowing to me in waves…Aaaahhhhhh. Nice.

Then I hear the SPOUSE stomping towards us…”You need to come help me.”  Urrr. Helping him is basically an impromptu building of a tarp, lattice, lean-to, cover structure for the garbage cans and lawnmower and wheelbarrow.  NOT what I had in mind. I won’t go into the details, but let’s just say it went downhill from there.

The snapping point happened when we were all getting into the car to go pick up our van from the repair shop, where it was getting a new battery. Well, then the friggin’ car doesn’t start. You see what I mean about a bad day?  This is the same car that I literally just drove to Wal-Mart and was having a little sentimental lovefest with about how great she still drives and how she starts right up, no problem, and actually imaging myself in a Honda commercial…300,000 miles and still running great!  She is almost 15 years old and has 145,000 miles on her, and she really hasn’t give us too much trouble. But today, that bitch wouldn’t start. Insert fits and fumes. Fast forward 10 minutes and we are all sulking about what to do. Then Leila jumps on me and says, this is all happening because maybe we won the lottery!!  She’s 6 and I know that statement must say something about our parenting skills, but I am choosing to think we are instilling a sense of hope in her. Anyway, maybe she’s right. 

She’s not.

When I have the bright idea…”who wants an oatmeal cream pie?”

The dogs’ ears perk up as we are crinkle open our cellophane wrappers……mmmm. This might be what heroin feels like. Didn’t these things used to be bigger?  This is Leila’s first time having one and she asks…what’s in the middle?  Tim replies, “That’s cream.”  We ALL know it is NOT cream.  Maybe my scale is not broken after all.

So my question is this, when the shit hits the fan, anyone have any suggestions or methods of controlling stress eating. This is my biggest challenge. When things are going smoothly, I can stay on track. But when things get crazy I reach for the junk food like….well…a junkie. Help!

8 Responses to A terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad day

  1. Kimmothy says:

    I never thought of myself as an emotional eater…until I realized the past two years of steadily gaining weight had to come from somewhere, and it wasn’t heroin (I hear that stuff makes you *lose* weight – maybe I’ll try it). Self-medicating with food, it turns out, is something that’s pretty easy to fall into.
    As far as the cure for it? I’m not sure, but last night during the punching portion of 30-DS when Jillian says, “Get that frustration out,” I thought Hmm. It DID feel good to be punching something, even if I was only punching air (except Jillian was in my direct line of vision so I’ll admit to pretending to punch her a few good times). I don’t know, but I did imagine for a minute how great a punching bag would be. You could even put a different picture on it every day – whoever makes you mad. This isn’t helping at all; I’m sorry. I realize yesterday’s situation didn’t allow for you to run in and start vigorously exercising, but that’s all I can think of right now that might help.
    And whoa, I CANNOT believe that little black Honda still runs! (Most of the time)

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Oatmeal cream pies! Yum. Of course, they’re a gateway drug to Fudge Rounds and Nutty Bars. Dangerous, dangerous stuff! 😀

    Kim, I have a 100-pound heavy bag in the basement. It’s a good workout, but honestly I was once told by a mental health professional that punching something to relieve stress or frustration can be a bad thing, because it conditions you to want to hit something when you’re feeling that way…you can see where this can possibly go.

    I think he was probably right. I haven’t really used it much since then. (Though my son does from time to time – not when he’s mad, just when he wants to.)

    • Kimmothy says:

      I never thought about that – wow!
      If I was a runner, I’d say I bet that would be a great stress reliever, but considering I’d rather have my toe nails yanked off than run, I don’t know.

      • Taoist Biker says:

        Agreed on the running thing. Ugh.

        I really enjoy lifting weights as a stress reliever, but sometimes my muscles give out before the stress does!

  3. Laura says:

    I’m a stress eater, too… I just TRY to reach for something healthy. Damn, though, those Oatmeal Cream Pies ARE addictive, and I haven’t had one in years. Nutty Bars I’m guilty of noshing on in the more recent past.

    GAH. I need to go get some lunch. I’m HUNGRY.

  4. Shari says:

    I didn’t even plan on getting the Oatmeal Cream pies…I ran into my neighbor at Wal-Mart, who is an older lady who needs to gain weight, and she had them in her basket and the rest is history. I haven’t had them in years either, and probably won’t for a long while. I just feel bad because I’m actively trying to lose right now. Stress or crisis definitely lowers my will power or determination or whatever you want to call it.

    TB: I won’t let the Oatmeal Cream Pies lead to anything else. Just like I never really went too far past pot. Hmmm…but I am thinking that pot might be a gateway drug for oatmeal cream pies…oh brother.

  5. Dyskinesia says:

    —edited to say that I think this reply was a post, so I’ll do that. 🙂

  6. […] In a recent post, Shari asked us how we stave off emotional eating.  As a 17th-degree rainbow-belt Master of Emotional […]

Leave a Reply

