THE Best Healthy Sweet Treat Ever

I made these cake bars just about every week for a few months and ate them a couple of times a day. I have a sweet tooth that matches perfectly to the characteristics of these bars: cakey, a bit of chocolate, and not too sugary. They’re the single best no-guilt sweet snack I’ve ever heard of: naturally low-fat and, if you use carob chips, vegan. The recipe credit goes here, but I just had to transcribe it with my own tips for y’all.

Nom Nom Chocolate Chip Bars

3.5 cups of flour
1.5 tsp baking powder
.5 tsp baking soda
.5 tsp salt
1.5 cups dry sweetener (she means sugar, but you could use one of The Evil Sweeteners if you must, Splenda etc.)
1 cup natural applesauce (get the natural stuff, really)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup soy milk, water, or milk (I always use vanilla soy milk, and it’s perfect…I think water wouldn’t work all too well)
1 cup chocolate chips or carob chips

Preheat oven to 350F. Sift or, if lazy like me, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, and salt in large bowl. In second bowl, mix together applesauce, soy milk, vanilla, and chocolate chips. (The applesauce is actually a substitute for one cup of oil, but don’t use the oil, trust me, the bars are a thousand times better and healthier with the applesauce.) Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until batter comes together. Pour it into a greased/Pammed 9×13 pan. Stick it in the oven for 25-30 minutes (it should be a bit brown on top, although the middle top may have no color), let cool for 10 minutes, slice into squares and consume with zero guilt.

The applesauce instead of oil trick will work with any number of baked goods. I was dubious too, but make one single batch of these bars and you’ll be a convert. It does make them a bit stickier than they probably would be otherwise, especially if you put them in sandwich bags and take them to work like I do, but it’s so worth it in terms of calorie savings.

Enjoy!

5 Responses to THE Best Healthy Sweet Treat Ever

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Good: HELL YES this sounds good. And I think we’ve got everything at home, even the natural applesauce (although it’s in serving cup packages for Boy).

    Bad: Just reading the recipe is making me want chocolate chips.

  2. Kimmothy says:

    That sounds awesome!
    Whenever I spent summers with my hippie aunt and uncle, I was exposed to carob chips. At first I wanted to smack somebody, but then it got to where I craved them!
    Also, I was out of veg oil a few months ago when I was in the middle of baking a cake, used the old applesauce replacement trick and it came out great and no one was the wiser.
    Great recipe, thanks!

  3. suzy2110 says:

    I’ve never heard of using applesauce like that before, but it sounds great! 🙂

  4. Laura says:

    THESE SOUND SO GOOD. And I’ve heard of subbing applesauce before, is it a direct 1:1 substitution?

    Carob? (“Hansel?) Never heard of ’em. Are they sold in any old store or do you need to go to a health food type place?

    • crisitunity says:

      Yes, it’s 1:1. I don’t know if it’d work in “finer” baked goods, where the liquid ratio has to be just right, but as far as I know it generally works in sweet batters. You can only taste the difference if you chew carefully and try to notice it.

      Health food stores would be your first and best bet on finding carob chips or powder, but some supermarkets might have them. (Even my local Whole Foods doesn’t carry carob powder.) Might as well go to a health food store and save the time.

      Note: DO NOT substitute carob powder for cocoa powder in brownie recipes. Do not ask me how I know this.

Leave a Reply

