Think Before Munching

Going into this, I knew I was going to have to make some fairly drastic changes. I also know myself pretty well when it comes to fitness goals, and knew that if I was going to get a good start, I was going to be making bigger changes first with adding exercise, then gradually altering the way I eat.  See I have this thing about food – I love it with an unholy, sexual love. It’s a downright miracle I was able to maintain as low of a weight as I did for so long, and though it’s now all finally caught me, I kind of figured it had to happen eventually. It is not in my genetic make-up to be thin and the fact that I was for so long was astounding to people on both sides of my family. I come from a tribe of semi-chubby, food-loving people. I love them, but it’s damn annoying sometimes.

 I think I’ve mentioned before that I’d rather practice portion control than eat things that contain words like “Lite” or “Fat Free” in them. Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve tried stuff like that and except for a couple of salad dressings, I just can’t do it. Why waste any calories at all on something that tastes like ass? No, if this means I have to be a little more diligent with measuring and paying attention, I’m all for it. I’m excited to say that instead of the usual mindless dumping a small mountain in, I’m down to six teaspoons of creamer in my morning joe – that’s a significant reduction, but it didn’t alter the taste in any way except for the fact I can actually taste some coffee now. My brain can deal with making changes like that and I don’t feel as if I’m depriving myself of things this way.

 The problem I’m running into mostly right now are certain times of the day when it’s all I can do to restrain myself from shoving anything edible into my mouth. That mid to late afternoon lull when blood sugar is supposedly low. Right after I get home – maybe that’s a holdover from afterschool milk & cookies? And then of course the famous after dinner late evening snack, when I feel as though I’d trade several loved ones in for an ice cream sandwich. This is also the time that I’ve mentioned my loved one makes repeated trips to the kitchen, so I get to watch that all night long.

 I’ve never been a huge eater, in that I don’t normally eat a lot at one sitting. There have been exceptions to that of course (a six-course Italian Easter dinner comes to mind), but the outcome of that is never good. I can’t stand being so full as to be miserable, so I don’t have a problem there. No, I’m a true grazer, which in the dieting world is supposed to be one of the tricks. The problem has been, I think, what I’ve been grazing on. Apparently the time has long past where I can mindlessly grab a bag of M ‘n M’s or Doritos and go merrily on my skinny way.

 With that in mind, I can’t see myself being a carrot and celery muncher all the time. Not that I have anything against carrots and celery, but the thought of those things being my only snacking options depresses the hell out of me. I think for now the key is going to be to think a little more carefully before shoving something in my food hole. Am I really hungry, or am I just bored? Is that little tummy rumble really going to kill me or can I wait until dinner before eating? That type of thing. Just like with the coffee creamer, I think little modifications are going to help go a long way.

10 Responses to Think Before Munching

  1. crisitunity says:

    I truly believe that low-fat and no-fat foods are the opposite of an answer to weight loss. Fat is not the point; percentage of fat to calories, and total calories consumed vs. total calories burned, is. You are RIGHT ON about portion control.

    Can I suggest something that might not be right at all for you? Maybe you could try eating 4-5 small meals a day. You seem like you’re sort of doing that already, but maybe giving yourself permission to call them meals instead of snacks might make it better. This is what I do, and it keeps the bad hungry feeling in my tum away. I eat at 8 AM (oatmeal), 11-11:30 AM (sandwich), 2:30-3:30 PM (soup or pasta), and dinnertime. This really, really works for me.

    • Kimmothy says:

      That’s kind of what I’m doing now I guess, but yeah – whatever trick I have to use to make myself think I’m getting all I want to eat, I will do.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I’ve done a four-meal a day thing before and it wasn’t bad. The problem was that I didn’t reduce the size of the meals as much as I should have.

    For full disclosure, I’ve done a 6 or 7-meal thing before when I was on heavy weight lifting cycles. Sometimes it got to be too much damned work planning that many meals out, even if 40% of them were some kind of blender shake.

    It’s hot as hell here and I’d gladly kill small animals for a big-ass bowl of ice cream. I’m getting IC for Father’s Day, though, b’gawd, and I don’t care if every one of you women try to hold me back. I’ll burn off the calories draggin’ ever’ one’a y’all on my back all the way to Dairy Queen.

    • Kimmothy says:

      That’s me – I need to make sure my portions are small enough.
      You DESERVE ice cream on Father’s Day, but I wish you hadn’t mentioned the words “Dairy Queen” because now I feel sure I’ll be dreaming of Blizzards tonight.

  3. suzy2110 says:

    TB, everyone deserves ice cream on Father’s Day! 😀 Actually I developed such an addiction to Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia during my last pregnancy, I would get through gallons of the stuff and it’s not bad calorie or fat wise. Might be a good option! 🙂

    Kim, it sounds like you have a great plan- everything in moderation, right?

    • Kimmothy says:

      Yes, moderation is a good thing – I just wish I’d been practicing more of it the past couple of years! But that’s okay; I know I can do it now.
      Cherry Garcia is the devil and I am its slave.

  4. Laura says:

    Ice cream cravings call for a Skinny Cow. Do you have them in your area? Low fat ice cream sandwiches that I think are pretty darned good…

    You might be thirsty, and not hungry. Sometimes thirst translates to your mind as hunger, so you might want to try drinking a big glass of water when the munchies hit. If you’re still hungry ten minutes later, then you’re *actually* hungry.

    As you already know, snacking (or grazing) is NOT bad for you, just your choices have to be healthy. Do you like cottage cheese? I usually grab a few spoonfuls right out of the container when the munchies hit. A half sandwich on whole wheat bread with lean meat is good, too (though it made Calvin boggle once when I made a half-sandwich at 9:30 at night, once, but I was STARVED and that was the only thing that sounded good). Baked tortilla chips and salsa, carrots or whole grain crackers dipped in hummus, a bowl of healthy cereal (like, Special K, NOT Lucky Charms – and 1 cup, not a Jethro Bodine bowl) with 2% milk… I run through all of these snacks routinely when I’m trying to combat the urge to nosh on the potato chips that Calvin has sitting next to me on the couch.

    • suzy2110 says:

      I always hated cottage cheese- but now I am finding that it’s nice on a baked spud for my lunch. If I sprinkle a little salt on (yes I KNOW salt is bad!) I can nearly fool myself that it’s feta cheese!! 😀

    • Kimmothy says:

      I’ve heard of Skinny Cow; I need to look into that since ice cream is one of my biggest weaknesses.
      I like pretty much everything you’ve mentioned here.

  5. […] just read and responded to Kim’s post, Think Before Munching. It got me thinking about […]

Leave a Reply

