One Week Down

It was with mild trepidation I approached the scale this morning. It’s been one week and in that time I managed to do the 30DS four times and the stepper once. I’ve also been diligent with keeping a food journal, and after Laura was kind enough to point me in the direction of a cool calorie calculation site, was able to keep my calorie intake at or under the 1600 mark, which is what’s recommended as long as I’m trying to lose weight.

I decided that at least for right now that I’m weighing in once a week. I think that’s a good compromise as far as not being a slave to the numbers yet also celebrating the little victories. I know it’s not all about what the scale says. But I was really excited to see I’m down three pounds. I know there are going to be weeks the numbers don’t move and I also know there will be times (hopefully few and far between) the numbers will go up. However, as long as I’m doing what I need to do and not letting the occasional slip into sugary debauchery derail me from the long-term goal, I know I won’t get discouraged.

Even more exciting is that I can already feel small changes in my energy level, the way my clothes are fitting and the presence of certain muscles. If I’m feeling this way now, I can’t wait to see what I feel like a month from now! Which is the whole idea of this project. Feeling better about myself and in turn feeling better about everything else.

As a little bonus, when I saw his parents yesterday after not seeing them for two weeks, George looked at me weirdly (moreso than normal) and said, “You look different, Kim,” and Iris said, “You’ve lost weight!” I think that’s significant because it’s not just weight loss by starvation or a fluke, but hopefully that some pudge has been replaced with some muscle. But no matter what the case is, it’s always a great thing to hear when you’re working at it.

I’m happy with how I’ve done one week in and I’m looking forward to whatever progress I make this week. And the week after and so on and etcetera. And I fully credit this little spot here for the fun, support and motivation it’s given me. We’re spread out and far flung and all that, but the fact that we can all come together here and commiserate and cheer each other on is as cool as a low calorie ice cream bar on a hot Summer’s night.

10 Responses to One Week Down

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Three pounds is good for a week! I’ve always read that 1-3 pounds is about as much as an average Joe can lose in a week and not lose muscle. (But that was for guys, I dunno about women. They don’t cover the ladies too much in Ads & Ads & Muscle & more Ads & Muscle & still more Ads & a little Fitness magazine.)

  2. Laura says:

    Hooray! Good job! I’m not stepping on mine this weekend… didn’t behave myself AT ALL up North, so I’ll skip it and buckle down this week.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    As advertised, I snarfed down a Blizzard for Father’s Day. Otherwise I’ve been fairly decent this weekend.

  4. dyskinesia says:

    GO YOU!!!

    Having that energy and good feeling about yourself shines through too and can totally change how people see you as well. It’s obviously paying off. 🙂 FEELING good will make all the difference in the world for you. Go girl!

    • Kimmothy says:

      Thanks! Every time I get to put on an article of clothing that hasn’t fit in over a year, I’m counting as a victory! And eventually (I hope) VICTORY WILL BE MIIIINE with all my clothes!

  5. Shari says:

    Yay, it’s working! It does feel so good to be able to put on the clothes without them pinching and pulling every which way. I’m kinda getting a little freaked by how “uncomfortable” I’ve been living, but just accepting it.

Leave a Reply

