Bleagh

Willpower, that’s what it’s all about.

That’s what I told myself 10 minutes ago as I had breakfast – “cookies and cream” protein powder.  Of all the advances of science that I’m looking forward to, #35 or so would be protein powder that doesn’t taste like ass.  Expired ass.  FDA-recalled ass.  (And isn’t that a bummer about the Toll House cookies?  Argh!)

Out of town meeting this morning (complete with a decent lunch – bonus) and then my first day back in the gym this afternoon.  Cardio-only, which I haven’t done in ages upon ages.  Thank god for my new iPod, which was an early Father’s Day gift, so I’d like to take a minute to thank my lovely wife for that little gift toward my exercise goals!

This will include my first weigh-in of this little adventure.  I’m not so worried about my weight, really.  I plan to use my belt as my real measuring stick.  I bought this belt when I broke my last one two years ago.  I was just starting to put some weight back on from my good weight of 2006 then, and I actually had to add a notch to the belt to be able to keep my pants up.  For the last several months I’ve, uh, been using the notch three over from the one I added.  That’s about three inches of waistline for those keeping score at home.  When I get back to that last DIY notch I’ll know I’m doing great.

Still, for solidarity with my fellow travelers on this path, I’ll do a weigh-in on the gym scale.  That’s the scale I’ve always gone by for my actual weight since our bathroom scale sucked, so we’ll have an “official” weigh-in.

Over/under is 212.  Who’s betting?  After pizza and a Blizzard for Father’s Day, I’m taking the over, but it should be close.

6 Responses to Bleagh

  1. Kimmothy says:

    Brian is hovering between 209 and 214 right now and he looks damn good to me (well, that’s a given), so 212 or thereabouts seems good! But I’m happy for you that you’re going back to the gym; that seems to be one of those things I’m not ready for yet.
    And yes, I was very sad to hear about the cookie dough.

  2. Laura says:

    Cardio is on my “to do” list today, as well. I’ve got my own bet going on that it’ll actually get done…

    • Taoist Biker says:

      Cardio only for me right now; I’ll give it a week or two and then decide if/when/how I’m gonna work weight training back into the mix, preferably so I don’t cripple myself for three days like I did on that LAST first-time-back trip to the gym.

      • Laura says:

        Cripple = bad. I do the same thing, a week or two of consistent cardio, then work weights in. Except at this moment weights = 30DS, but I’m alternating a day of cardio, a day of 30DS (or weights). That seems to be the avenue that equates to the least pain, for me. YMMV, of course.

      • Taoist Biker says:

        At my best…well, recently…I’d do an hour of weightlifting followed by 30m of cardio, three to four times a week. But that also requires that I sleep. A TON.

Leave a Reply

