Daily Goals

Kim

Water: Still can’t seem to make that 64 oz. goal, but I know I’m doing much better with it because I’ve been spending more quality time on the potty if you know what I mean and I think you do. Sorry, but it’s true.

Calories/Nutrition: Okay, I’m noticing something weird here. According to what a calorie calculator said, I am supposed to be around 1600 a day to be losing weight. In looking over my calorie journal I’ve noticed I’ve been hovering around 1300 a day every day. That’s supposed to be my “extreme weight loss” number and they don’t recommend that for healthy weight loss. But I’m certainly not going to try to force an extra 300 calories – what the hell is that all about? I’m confused.

Exercise: Between having my Princess Time this week and a bunch of extra crap I don’t normally have to do, I only officially exercised four times, which was down from five times last week. I know I was active every day, but I’m psyched to start this week back with Jillian kicking my ass a lot more again.

Worst Thing Today: Brian leaving again first thing this morning to go do the shiteous tile job again. I’ll be so happy when this job is over (hopefully by Tuesday).

Best Thing Today: My weigh-in – I lost another 3 lbs this week for a total of six so far, wooooo!

Notes: I’m pretty happy with the slow but steady pound droppage, but even happier I’ve been able to start wearing more of my clothes again. It’s not fun to have a decent wardrobe that you can only wear a few things from. That sounds really superficial, but I’d been feeling terrible every morning getting ready for work and not fitting into stuff. I love clothes; I always have. And I’m happy me and them are becoming newly acquainted friends again.

Laura:

Water: I’m trying to find new and creative ways to get my 64 oz in. It’s not usually too hard, since it’s always a hundred and FRICK outside. But it gets boring after a while. A friend at work suggested those single-serving Crystal Light packets, which can be added to a water bottle. Anybody out there ever tried ’em?

Calories/Nutrition: I’ve been doing really well this past week, with the possible exception of Friday when I had a few beers and fish tacos at BJ’s Brewery. Haven’t tallied up the calories on that day yet, so I’m not positive. I have noticed that taking my daily vitamins on a more regular basis has brought my nutrition levels (calcium and potassium specifically, where my normal diet is deficient) to within recommended ranges. Still challenged to get enough fiber, darnit. Today’s food includes yogurt for breakfast, leftover meatloaf and a salad for lunch, and roast with roasted potatoes and veggies, and salad, for dinner. I’m making a Summer Strawberry Cloud for dessert (the kids are coming over for dinner prior to our much-anticipated Yanni concert tonight), and that’s very light on the calories but SO DARN GOOD.

Exercise: Again, doing good this week. I missed my workout yesterday, but spent a lot of time cleaning the house, so I figure that counts! Today I’m going to begin adding in more weight training, per the kind recommendations and advice of my fellow No-Buttsters. So, 30 minutes of cardio, and 30-ish minutes of weight training, daily. I need to bust out my Body Sculpting Bible for Women again and come up with a good routine that’s more than just squats and lunges, biceps and triceps. I think what I’m going to try to do is work out every day except Friday, do cardio every day, and alternate between upper body weights and lower body weights each day. My whole problem is that I want my workouts to be speedy and efficient, and I know I can’t truly get a good workout in without just dedicating some time to it. An hour to an hour and a half each day may sound normal and obvious to everyone else, but for some reason if it takes me more than 45 minutes my brain just shuts down completely. SO BORED. Damn, I really need a TV in the workout room!

Worst Thing Today: Umm… nothing, really! It’s been a good weekend so far, and we’ve been looking forward to tonight’s concert for MONTHS.

Best Thing Today: The aforementioned concert, going to see Heather in four days, I’m on vacation all next week… yeah. I’m in a pretty good mood!!!

Notes: I ought to step on the scale today, seeing as I’m sure I won’t be doing it next Sunday (hello, Chicago area food!!!). I just… really don’t want to. I feel like it would discourage me more than anything else, so I’m going to skip it and just keep plugging away at my goals. I mean, why sabotage myself just to keep up with a weigh-in schedule?

10 Responses to Daily Goals

  1. Laura says:

    Kim, congrats on the continued weight loss! You’re doing so great! I admit I’m rather envious…

    • Kimmothy says:

      God, it’s a hundred and FRICK outside here today too (that made me giggle-snort), which means I’m probably not leaving the house. I honestly hate this weather with all my heart and I might just be your number one weather sympathizer.
      I think part of my most recent weight gain was partially from all the stupid hormones and fertility medications I’ve been taking for the past six months, so I think that could be a reason this first few pounds have started to come off. I’m sure I’ll soon be facing the first plateau brick wall and I’m dreading it. I think it’s a great idea for you to not weigh right now and just do what you’re planning. And even though you’ll soon be lucky enough to be eating the finest Chicago has to offer (SO JEALOUS!), you’ll also be running around and active the whole time and I think it’ll balance out.
      I’m now going to look at your strawberry dessert because it sounds like something I’d LOVE!

    • Kimmothy says:

      P.S.
      I’ve tried the Crystal Light stuff (I’m pretty sure it was the rasberry) and it was a little spendy for what it is, but definitely worth the investment to fight off Water Boredom. I actually have a few packs left and will probably buy more when I run out.

  2. crisitunity says:

    FWIW, I am not a fan of those Crystal Light things just because they turn plain old good water into sugar water (or fake-sugar water). But I know that I’m obsessive about beverages in this way.

    Kim, good for you!!

    Laura, I wish you luck in finding a good workout that’s not too dull. The aerobic workout I used to lose weight, which I did get darned tired of, was only 20 minutes, but I did it 5-6 times a week for many weeks without fail.

  3. dyskinesia says:

    I’m allergic to Nutrasweet (aspartame), so Crystal Light hasn’t been worth killing myself to try it (ho ho ho – true but still funny!).

    Since that is the case, I will often add other things to my water: lime juice, lemon juice (surprisingly, lime and lemon together? Meh.), a little cranberry juice, etc. Yes, it adds calories, but I figure if it’s keeping me from drinking soda or whatever else all day long, then hey, what’s a few calories for flavor versus the hundreds I would have been sucking down, right? Right! Glad you’re coming with me on that.

    • Kimmothy says:

      Totally! I forgot to mention I bought some limes last week for the sole purpose of making my water consumption more exciting. Another little trick I’ve found is to add some of the blue PowerAid I like so much into a bottle of water. It looks like I’m drinking Windex, so that’s always a conversation starter. A few extra calories for some actual taste is a very good trade-off.

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    Oh, my dear Laura, I can design a workout like nobody’s freaking business. Only problem is, I design workouts that *I* like, and I tend to hate workouts that others design for me.

    I’ll post up my old workout sometime in the next day or two (with big caveats that this is a Dude Muscle Building workout, and YMMV). The only reason I’m hesitant to do so is because it’ll make me feel like a chump posting a weight-training workout when I’m only doing cardio right now.

  5. […] Weight Training Workout As I was saying earlier today, I feel a bit stupid posting a workout like this since I’m in a cardio-only phase myself right […]

Leave a Reply

