Buying Time Before the Inevitable

So I’m down six pounds in two weeks, which I am extremely pleased about. But me being me, I also got a little nervous yesterday thinking about the inevitable “P word.” You know, that nasty, even obscene thing called the plateau. I’m not new here; I know she’ll be comin’ round the mountain when she comes. The killer is not ever knowing when. It seems pretty Jewey of me to be worrying so soon, but hi, have we met? Worry is what I do best and if I could burn calories doing that, well I wouldn’t need to exercise at all, now would I! (Note to self: Invent “Worry Your Calories Away” machine)

And really I don’t think it’s too far-fetched considering whenever I’ve started any sort of weight loss project I always see the first few pounds come off fairly quickly. I know all about that misleading bastard known as water weight and I think that combined with the being off of the fertility drugs for the past month has made a difference too.

So I think it’s a matter of being a little pro-active. I’d actually like to try and lose four pounds this week, to make it a nice even ten. Ten is a great number, one of my favorites. I decided since I’ve been doing okay with 20 – 30 minutes of exercise four to five days a week, this week I’m going to kick it up a notch and attempt 45 minutes to an hour at least five times. I don’t have a lot to do this week anyway, so why not. Not sure if that weight loss goal is realistic, but I guess I’ll find out on Sunday morning, which has become my sort of unofficial weekly weigh-in time.

And really the calorie counting is not as much of a pain in the ass I feared it would be. I’ve noticed I eat many of the same things, so most of the stuff is ingrained in the membrane (ingrained in the BRAAAIN) already and it’s easy to keep track of everything. One big revelation: I do not eat NEAR the amount of fruit and/or vegetables I thought I did. I’m going to try harder with that, for sure.

Lastly, I came really close to taking a “Before” picture yesterday. Because believe me, even with six pounds down there’s still PLENTY of “Before” to be found. I’ll probably end up doing it, but maybe not share it until I feel good enough about posting a nice “After” to go along with it. How’s that for healthy compromise? I know I appreciate a good before/after, so it’s time to stop being a little pansy bitch, make like Nike and just do it. What’s a gut and a couple of huge melon-boobs among friends, right? Right. *Gulp*

13 Responses to Buying Time Before the Inevitable

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I’d bet you won’t hit a plateau for at least another 3-4 weeks. Shifting gears now will delay it, though!

    If it makes you feel better, in my first week of heavy exercise I didn’t change weight at all. But I’m not as heart-poundy when I get to the top of the stairs, so that’s cool.

    And huge boobs among friends always sounds good to me…

    *ducks*

    • Kimmothy says:

      I know it’s not all about the scale (logically) but I do admit seeing the numbers go down the past two weeks has got me really motivated.
      And don’t worry; I left my self open for boob jokes. Hopefully they will shrink a little too or I’ll have to apply for them to get their own zip code.

  2. crisitunity says:

    I actually laughed aloud at ingrained in the BRAAAAIN.

    I think you’re doing great. 3 pounds a week is nice and healthy. And you and I both know that you’ll be glad you took those “before” pictures when you get to “after”…even if you never share them with anyone.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      Hmm. Maybe July 1 would be a good “Before Picture Day?” Possibly to be shared, possibly to be shared later? I might be able to get on board with that.

      And yes, I caught the Cypress reference as well!

    • Kimmothy says:

      Wow – hey. Maybe if other people post pictures I won’t feel so alone and scared.
      Yes, I have issues.

  3. Laura says:

    I think everyone’s had enough of my “before” pictures from the beer festival! Good grief, I’ve never been so narcissistic with a camera.

    I, too, thought I was doing better in the fruit/veggie serving category, until I started tracking. Keep in mind, though, a “serving” is a cup, so a large piece of fruit or a big salad is more than a single serving.

  4. suzy2110 says:

    I think you’re doing really well! 3lb a week is beating me right now- I’m losing 2 a week or so…not this week though, but we’ll gloss over that one for now! 😛

    Keep it up!

  5. […] Dreaded “Before” Shot Well, we talked about it, and I finally went and done did it.  If certain other bloggers can be forthright with their […]

Leave a Reply

