Fireworks in Mah Belleh

Well, thanks to TB shaming us all opening up the opportunity, I think I’m just about ready to have Brian take some Before pictures of me. I haven’t decided on my attire for them just yet, but I can tell you one thing – the sports bra I just bought (what I  lovingly refer to as the Medieval Boob Pincher of Doom) is not going to be as prominently displayed as what I’d first planned. Maybe. I don’t know – can you tell I’m still a little indecisive about this?

So I have the next four days off from work, and during that time there’s a good chance I’m going to come in contact with some food stuffs I haven’t allowed myself to indulge in for awhile. Since I started back exercising, I haven’t managed to do diddly-squat (squats?) in the morning, but instead have been consistenly successful doing my thing in the evening/nighttime hours. I believe that’s all going to change for the next few days for a couple of reasons:

1. It’s always easier for me to get up early and be motivated to accomplish stuff when I’m not under the time constraints of getting ready for work. Just knowing I have the whole day stretched before me to do whatever I want makes me feel happy and free and well, you get the idea.

2. By getting the work-outs over with in the morning, should I come in contact with some naughty eats later, at least I’ll know I’ve already done my Good Work for the day and maybe, just maybe, that’ll keep me from overdoing it too much. Maybe.

But I was thinking about this carefully. I’m thankful that at this early stage of the game the holiday upon us is July 4th and not those famous diet-killers, Thanksgiving or Christmas. We’re talking corn on the cob, watermelon, and grilled meat vs. casseroles, gravys, and the stick-to-your-ribs (and ass) starches we feel the need to eat in the wintertime to ensure our protective layer of fat stays firmly put. You know, because we still live in caves and don’t own any coats.

Of course, I know this doesn’t mean I have license to go buck wild or anything. Corn on the cob is perfectly fine unless I drown it in salt and butter which I’ve been known to do. And I don’t make my strawberry shortcake with the traditional low-cal, no-fat angel food cake like you’re supposed to. No, the recipe I have is way more tastier and ridiculous than that.

But, as I commented to TB after he had the nerve to  mention some orgasmic french toast, holidays are for fun and if that fun includes letting go of some of our self-imposed dietary rules, then hey. You know? That wagon will be there patiently waiting for all of us to climb back up on next week. I know in the dieting world it’s wrong to think in terms of “I deserve this,” but dammit, we do.

7 Responses to Fireworks in Mah Belleh

  1. crisitunity says:

    I have a somewhat difficult time with timing my exercise, too, when it’s just up to me and I’m not going to a class. First thing in the morning has always worked for me, too, unless it’s yoga. But that’s another story.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    In theory, first thing in the morning is great for me – but if I do a weightlifting routine I’m kinda fried for the rest of the day. If somebody asks me to move a filing cabinet or something like that, I’m stuck.

    That and the whole sweating my ass off before work deal. Ick.

    But too late and I suck, too. There comes a time in every day, normally around 7 or 8, at which I fall into “I’m home” territory and I start saying to myself “Fuck it, it’s not worth leaving the house for.”

    Edited to add: Now I wanna see the Boob Pincher of Doom. 😀 Every time I think of a good shove-’em-together bra I have an image of that lady from “Third Rock” (Kristen something?) getting used to her Earthling female body, turning to Dick (John Lithgow) with her boobs shoved together and saying, “I think they have more power when they collide?”

    • Kimmothy says:

      I want to say Kristen Johnson? I love her and I remember that episode!
      Oddly if I have to do something physical after working out I’m wrecked too, and I don’t understand it because you’d think I’d be all pumped and strong and stuff. It’s weird.
      I took a couple of Before pics yesterday. *Shudder*

  3. suzy2110 says:

    Kristen Whatshername was wonderful in 3rd Rock and proof that a girl who is big in every direction can be sexy as hell! We salute you, even though none of us is sure what your surname was!! 😀

    I have a similar bra, BTW.

    And, FUCK it, if you’re all doing before shots, I hate, hate, HATE it but I think I will have to do the same. NO FAIR!!!!! 😀

    PS Prepare to be shocked…I will be!

  4. Taoist Biker says:

    Now I had to ashamedly look it up – Kristen Johnston is her name. We salute ye!

    I still think Crisitunity is right – it’s good to take the pictures, whether you post ’em or not. I thought hard enough before posting that I won’t prod anyone else to do so!

Leave a Reply

