We Hold These Truths to be Self-Evident

That sometimes the scale isn’t going to say what we expect.

The past two Sunday mornings have been a pleasant surprise and so it was with excited anticipation I stepped up on it a few minutes ago…and couldn’t believe what I saw, so moved it to a different spot on the floor and did it again. Same reading. How can a scale that’s less than a month old be broken already?

Okay, out with it already, right? The damn thing said the exact same thing it did last week. Despite the fact I amped up my work-outs, despite the fact I worked out six out of the last seven days. Logically, I know this isn’t at all unusual. Emotionally, I feel like a just got bitch-slapped.

Okay, so I’m not totally delusional and I realize I’ve done a few things in the past couple of days that may have something to do with it. Enthusiastically accepting a date with Brian to the Mexican restaurant. A beer with bowling the other night. (But really – one beer) A couple of ice cream sandwiches thrown in here and there. Slacking up on the calorie counting over the weekend. Substituting a couple of Diet Cokes in there when I could’ve had water. Knowing my relationship with Diet Coke is complicated and needs to be avoided at all costs right now.

While I don’t feel I went super crazy at any point, I do see where these things add up. And the scary part is, I now face before me Sunday dinner at the inlaws’ house, my weekly exercise in self-control.

It’s okay though. All I can do is shake it off and keep doing what I’m doing with exercise and maybe be a little more careful with what I eat and drink. Next Sunday maybe the scale will be my friend again. In the meantime, I’ll keep on pursuing life, liberty and the pursuit of skinniness.

2 Responses to We Hold These Truths to be Self-Evident

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Yep, it happens. Keep plugging and it’ll go away.

    If not, very gently place a sledgehammer on the floor beside the scale next week. Right up close where they can see each other. See if that’ll get the bastard to straighten up.

Leave a Reply

