I survived vacation!

Hi All,
Needless to say, had a great time on vacation. There is just something so dreamy about crossing the bridge to the island. It is like entering another world. A deep breath of the salty air and I am free. I get creative. I want to write and I want to read and I want to paint. Island life is about waking up early and playing all day, eating early and going to bed spent, only to do it all over again the next day. It’s a lot like being a kid again. I enjoyed the seafood feast and really didn’t go hardcore on watching what I ate. I ate ice cream and a burger, Slurpees and my daily rations of beer and pina coladas. Eating out can be hard, but I am coming to realize what a great amount of food is being served and on several occasions I split with my mom or Leila or just got soup or salad and had bites from everyone’s plates. There is ALWAYS so much food. Being in the hot sun definitely makes for eating lighter and for guzzling water. The only “real” exercise I did was running. Which I don’t know if I want to call it that. It’s my alone time, which is a nice way to set the day. The rest of the time I just played. I ended up gaining a 1/2 pound, which is nothing considering I wasn’t watching it, and I’m factoring in the fact that a tan makes you look at least 5 pounds lighter. I’m going to try to incorporate more of a play hard, eat less, drink more (water) relaxed type of regimen. It definitely is a lot less stressful than beating myself up for missing a workout.

4 Responses to I survived vacation!

  1. Kimmothy says:

    Glad you had such a great time and I think that’s a good strategy to have. And 1/2 lb is NOTHING, so that’s awesome!!
    And welcome back!

  2. Laura says:

    I’m glad you had a good time. And gee, I think I’ll go lay out in the sun and get a tan, now…

  3. dyskinesia says:

    Island life sounds fantastic to me! Best thing – you came back refreshed, and getting your state of mind back to a good, happy, renewed place is the very best thing you could have done for yourself. Plus it sounds like you found time to stop and be aware too. Welcome back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

