Down with Whitey

In typical me-fashion, I’ve been debating for a few weeks on what my first reward would be when I hit the first ten pounds lost mark. And even though last week’s big fat ZERO happened on the scale, today I optimistically gave myself my present. Because surely this Sunday will reflect the milestone, right? RIGHT???

I decided on…a month of tanning, yay! Something Shari said when she got back from vacation is really what I’m blaming this on. Tan hides fat. I’m here to tell you it’s true. Well, maybe not so much hides it, but it certainly does something good to it. And as someone who has had an on again/off again relationship with the tanning bed, I know I always feel better about myself when I resemble human colored flesh, as opposed to the translucent glow I’ve been sporting for awhile.

And trust me. Even though I technically started today, it will certainly be awhile before I see any difference. I know from experience I have to go SLOW when I do this (started at 8 minutes today) and be patient, or I’ll just end up an itchy, burny, flaky mess. And even though I do eventually get a nice even color, I’ll never be asked to model Hawiian Tropic products. Well, maybe if I reach my tanning peak I could be the “Before” picture. Damn those “Before” pictures. My point is, by the time I’m tan I’ll have certainly reached the ten pound mark and actually hopefully even more than that, considering I know it’ll be a good month or so until I’m anything close to tan.

So what about you guys? Do you believe in the reward yourself system? Or do you think it’s just another excuse to spend unnecessary money? Inquiring minds and all that.

14 Responses to Down with Whitey

  1. crisitunity says:

    I believe in rewarding yourself, but I sometimes find that the reward keeps me from moving forward into the next stage. Don’t know why, but I’ve found it to be true.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I can see that but for me I know this is a long-term thing I’m doing (have no choice), so I don’t think it’ll affect me that way. And when I reach some goals I think that will be reward enough in itself. If not, I can always go shopping!

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I believe in the rewarding system. Beats the hell out of the punishing-myself-for-reaching-my-goals thing I tried before that…

  3. No rewards…PAIN is reward enough!!!!

    Grrrrrr!

  4. huladog says:

    Yeah, I don’t know what it is, but it’s the same reason the bodybuilders get tan to compete. It just makes muscles look nice and cellulite look less cellulite-y. You can get a dose of some good ol’ Florida Sunshine at the end of the month.

  5. huladog says:

    Oh, and Yes, I totally believe in rewards. The trouble I get into is that I buy the reward before I meet the goal. That is why I have a closet full of clothes with tags waiting for me. But I have moved one particular sundress to the forefront so I can see it every day. All I have to do is try it on, and that makes me want to work out.

  6. Laura says:

    I believe in the concept of awards, but I’ve never deliberately rewarded myself. Maybe because I’ve never actually achieved any goals… hmm…

  7. dyskinesia says:

    I think rewards are great, particularly for working through a plateau or a stage of boredom. If rewarding every single time or for very specific intervals (say every 5 pounds), then it can turn ugly quickly because you’re either spending a fortune doing it, making it way more about the rewards than the accomplishment, or getting bored with it. So everything in moderation (ha, a-ha, a-ha-ha).

    For the record, since no one has said it: Food should NEVER be a reward. “If I’m good all week, I’m going to reward myself with ice cream on Sunday.” No. Call that a choice, not a reward or you’ll ‘reward’ yourself right out of your goals.

    …and I swear, girl – you have the best post titles in the world, lol.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I agree! I think thinking in terms of food being a “reward” or “being bad” when you have something like ice cream is not a healthy road to go down.
      I’d rather get myself stuff that continues to make me feel positive about myself right now.

Leave a Reply

