Daily Goals

Oh yes, I did start it!  Sha-zam!

Dys:

Water: Yes.  Which is an improvement.
Calories/Nutrition: Brunch – choc soy milk (sorry, I like it) and Jimmy Dean D-Lights turkey sausage breakfast sandwich, which is good, btw.  Yes, I have no compunction about my processed food.  My afternoon snacks are planned as carrots unless I get crazy and wash a red pepper, which I might do.  I’m a junkie for peppers.  I’ll also have a spoonful of reduced fat Jif creamy peanut butter around 4 p.m. because I will be *dying* for protein by that point.  Dinner – We’re probably/possibly going out somewhere on our last kid-free night.
Worst Thing Today: It’s our last kid-free night, and the week has been FILLED with work for me, more so than usual; that bites.
Best Thing Today: It’s our last kid-free night.  🙂  I miss the little bugger — ya know, sorta.  So far, I haven’t wanted to bitchslap anyone who works for me.  This is a major improvement in the week.  Hopefully we’ll have a nice night too 🙂
Notes: I am now 2.5 days without a single swig of Pepsi.  Actually did great the first 36 hours or so, didn’t even want it.  At this moment, I’m biting my lip just thinking about it.  Deep breath, reminder of how much better I feel without all that sugar in my body.

Kim
Water: I’m working on my 2nd bottle of 24 oz, so about normal.

Calories/Nutrition: Nothing out of the ordinary; yogurt, cereal bar, tuna fish on crackers. I’m trying to be more careful as the weekend approaches since that seems to be my Danger Zone.

Worst Thing Today: I found out a cousin (the one I’m closest to) has the real-life, no-joke freaking Swine Flu. He’s on day 13 already, so hopefully it’s almost out of his system, but still: freaked me the hell out.

Best Thing Today: The weather for once is not being an asshole, so I spent my lunch hour walking all over the lovely sprawling campus. There were many stairs involved, but I made it over to the main university book store, where I bought a Glenn Beck book for Brian and a Tori Spelling book for myself. Can you tell the difference in our reading preferences?

Notes: More about walking: since the weather must’ve gotten my memo(s), it’s been downright pleasant the past few days with 60’s in the early morning and high 80’s with not-so-bad humidity in the afternoon. I’ve been taking full advantage of this while I can. Also I’ve noticed SC is much hillier than FL, so I can actually feel it in my calves. It’s been awesome. Even more awesome? I remembered to pack my spare deoderant this morning. Score!

Laura

Water: My friend Jen bought me a 34 oz Bubba Keg so I’d stop being Environmentally Evil with my habit of taking a styrofoam cup from the cafeteria for my water every morning. Most days I have a 24 oz cup of tea (still in the styrofoam, I’m a bad person), I drink a whole Bubba, and I have a bottled water at home during/after my workout. So, yeah. I drink enough water I think.

Calories/Nutrition: Yogurt for breakfast, salad and cottage cheese for lunch, berries for a snack, and chicken stir fry for dinner. SparkPeople says: 1300ish calories.

Worst Thing Today: Really, just the fact that I have to be at work.

Best Thing Today: Ever closer to our vacation, and my boss is out today which means I am SO leaving at 4:00. I worked through lunch, so it’s a wash, but it feels all WIN to me!

Notes: I’ve been really tired lately, which might be because I’ve slacked off on my vitamins. On purpose – I seem to have developed a reaction to the Niacin I was taking. So until I get it all out of my system, I won’t take my multi, which has Niacin in it. Tired also = not feeling like workout out. I did weights on Wednesday but just managed a 30 minute walk yesterday, will probably only manage the same today… but tomorrow I’m planning on extended bouts of weights and cardio.

12 Responses to Daily Goals

  1. Kimmothy says:

    I’m so with you on the Pepsi thing – for me it’s regular Coke, but the love is the same. Once when I went on a long Coke sabbatical I actually dreamed about holding up a lovely clear glass of it and saw the sunlight streaming through to make that lovely brown/reddish glow. Yeah, I have some issues with it.

    • dyskinesia says:

      You’s got issues, girl! I don’t think I’ve ever dreamed about Pepsi… that I know of. But I am devoted enough that I liked Crystal Pepsi, so I suppose I shouldn’t be pointing fingers.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Babe: Good deal on the Pepsi! I suspected but I didn’t wanna jinx you by asking.

    Kim: I don’t even know who the hell Glenn Beck is. Is he a poker player? 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    Dys – I WISH I could get on board with soy milk, but it just tastes ucky to me. Though I haven’t tried the chocolate… which brand do you use?

    Kim – All my goals and intentions go right the hell out the window when the weekend comes. I can’t really understand why, either – it’s not like I’m any more exposed to temptation on the weekend than I am on any other day of the week.

    Also: Tori. Spelling. Really. :-/

    • Kimmothy says:

      Yeah – this is what happens when you have too much time on your hands: you start watching shows on Oxygen like Tori & Dean, and then become interested enough to buy her damn book. At least I got my employee discount!

      I think the problem for me on the weekend is that it’s more of a lazy, funtime mentality, whereas during the week I’m more used to sticking to routines. I don’t know.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      I can answer you, Laura – Chocolate Silk, and only Chocolate Silk. Not other brands, or vanilla, or plain, or even Lite Chocolate, just the chocolate. If you’d been to the grocery store and seen the empty slot where the ONE THING your wife requested you pick up should be as often as I have, you could learn to identify it too!

      For the record, I think it’s bleagh myself. But what do I know, I willingly drink whey protein shakes, and those are worse.

  4. dyskinesia says:

    He’s right: They’re worse.

    He’s also right on the Silk brand chocolate soy milk, of course. The caveat here being that I don’t know that it’s actually THAT much better for you than anything else, and 8 oz has more calories in it than 8 oz of Pepsi (just with other actual good things and not all that sugar).

    HOWEVER, if you’re lactose-intolerant and have menopausal hot flashes, soy protein is a happy thing!

    When I first tried it, I was kinda Bleh! about it too. If you really want to try it, you have to start out drinking it UBER COLD over ice. Makes a huge difference in texture and taste.

    I tried soy yogurt once, and I swear to all that is holy that it was vomit repackaged. 😮

  5. crisitunity says:

    I love chocolate soy milk. I drink it with dinner pretty much all week long (a half-glass only), and feel like I’m eight but don’t care because it’s so tasty. I don’t drink Silk but I can’t remember the brand offhand. I get the “lite” stuff though.

  6. huladog says:

    We only drink soy. We like the Publix brand but also drink Silk and whatever the Wal-mart brand is. This started a long time ago because of Marilu Henner and her opinions on dairy. Then we started to check into and I was….let’s just say horified. All I have to say is one word….mucus. See, kinda makes you want to drink soy, right?

Leave a Reply

