This post brought to you by “DUH”.

I can be such an idiot sometimes. No, really. Honest! No, now, stop. Ha! You’re sweet. Stop saying such nice things, you’re making me blush.

Here’s a concept for you all, regarding portion control. Instead of taking the whole box of crackers and the whole bowl of dip (made with light sour cream, but still) to the couch with you, thereby proceeding to nosh on FAR MORE than a single serving of each while you stare mindlessly at Oprah, try counting out the crackers and measuring out the dip, placing both on a plate, and eating like a reasonable person.

Lather, rinse, repeat for any food or beverage you choose to consume.

Jaysus. It’s the simplest concepts in life that totally escape me.

8 Responses to This post brought to you by “DUH”.

  1. Kimmothy says:

    I feel like an idiot every time I count crackers, but hey whatever works, right?

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    I think a serving is whatever the container holds.

    Hence, a serving of steak is equal to a bull.

  3. dyskinesia says:

    I practice this religiously when I eat … potato chips. Not so much the counting as the putting some in a bowl and putting the bag away – because I won’t go back and get more, but if I take the bag with me, I’m skrewed!

  4. crisitunity says:

    Yeah, I’m like Dys. I can also hear my mother screeching at me across 20 years: “Don’t eat out of the bag! Get a plate!”

  5. huladog says:

    This totally hits the point of forming new habits. The old ones are the ones that got us into this fine mess. I think the chips in the bowl thing totally works great. In fact, I now have a cute little striped bowl that I call my snack bowl and I can snack on whatever, but only what will fit in the bowl. It’s small, about the size of a handful. And it does make me think twice about going back for more.

  6. […] Laura’s recent post (and our seconding of her post) reminded me of just what a difference a little awareness can make. […]

Leave a Reply

