One Month In

Maybe it’s because I’m calendar obsessed, but did you guys realize it’s the Butts one-month anniversary this weekend? Yay! Which also means it’s the one-month mark of my personal, what would you call it – rededication? Fitness journey? Operation Fit Into My Clothes Again? Well, whatever you want to call it, I’m happy to have this milestone upon us. To celebrate, I think I’ll have a nice pizza with a hot fudge sundae chaser. Kidding!

To mark the occasion, here are some thoughts.

  • Regular exercise has made a total difference in my mental attitude and all-around feeling better. Shocking I know, but I wish I would’ve remembered this feeling a few months ago when I was deep in the throes of despair. And fat.
  • Although the fertility drugs were necessary at the time, I believe they were wreaking more havoc with my body than I’d thought. I’m pretty convinced they were partially the cause for the last ten pounds (or maybe more) of weight gain. Now that they’re out of my system, I feel like a new person. Though if the time ever comes I need to take them again, well, of course I will.
  • Tracking caloric intake isn’t the big scary production I was imagining, and it’s a real eye-opener. I never would’ve thought by dinner time I could easily already be at 800 calories for the day. Which leaves a comfortable window for dinner, but not much else.
  • It’s possible to have a healthy relationship with the scale and not let it rule my world. Every Sunday morning is my weigh-in date and I haven’t veered from that yet. For the first time ever there’s something to look forward to on Sunday mornings besides pancakes.
  • This morning it showed I only lost a pound this week. After last week’s stalemate that is something, but not quite what I was hoping for. I’m pretty sure even though I’ve been faithful with calorie counting, I’m still leaving room for too much sugar and salt. Another alteration to make, but that’s okay – I’m here to learn. After this I’ll have my PhD in fat.
  • Every day even if nothing else good happens, I know doing this is good and that makes me happy. Every day.

And now I think I’ll end this with a question, since another thing I’m thankful for is all the input you guys have given me. According to Jillian, my current guru, in order to maintain your weight you should get in a half hour of exercise a day, but in order to actively lose, you should log at least sixty minutes. I guess my question is two-fold:

1. Does this sound fairly accurate to you? I realize there’s different schools of thought on it, so anything you might have heard – spill!

2. I’m guessing she means 60 consecutive minutes? Like my sister said, she can maybe manage an hour a day if it’s split in half, but to try to do it all at once is a lot more inconvenient. I guess I’m wondering if I need to make sure when I’m doing the 30DS, I should probably add my stepper time or walking right afterwards. Right?

I might only be down seven pounds after a month, but I feel so much better. I’m choosing to look at it as a victory. And can’t wait to see what the next month will bring.

10 Responses to One Month In

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    You women and your anniversaries. 😀

    I think it depends on your level of fitness to begin with. If you’re a modestly active person, I don’t think 30 minutes will make a drastic difference. But if you’re inactive, 30 minutes would probably show some decent improvements for the first month or three.

    As for consecutive or nonconsecutive…I think consecutive is better, because the prolonged activity forces your body to draw deeper on its nutrients as workout lengthens…but any additional time you put in wouldn’t exactly be lost.

    I did my best when I was lifting weights for an hour and following it with half an hour of cardio, but you don’t see me doing that now – because it sucks holy ass to leave home at 7:30 and get home at 7:30 without the energy to hang with my son for the hour or so before his bedtime. Thhhbbbppptttt.

    • Kimmothy says:

      Thank you for making some sense out of the consecutive/non thing – that makes total sense. For me this is fairly realistic as the only thing I’d be sacrificing is sitting-my-ass-on-the-couch time, and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. This week’s goal is to add some morning activity to the mix. And for me just getting out of bed is sometimes an act of God, so we’ll see how that goes.

  2. Dyskinesia says:

    First, I’m so proud for you, Kim. 🙂 You’re feeling better. No matter what else you’re doing, you’re feeling better about yourself and your health, and it shines. That’s accomplishment!

    Now, watch me argue with my husband. 😉

    I’m normally not one for ‘studies say’, but I’m going to trot a couple out there that I’ve read/been told about because I really respected the people who wrote/told me about them.

    The one I read said that 60 minutes spread the heck out over the day showed no discernible difference from the people who did 60 minutes at a time. Granted, these folks were “power” walking, but the point was to get their heart rate at the target for at least half of the time they were exercising at any given moment. In some cases, the people who broke it out were actually in better shape because they weren’t suffering from injuries like some of the other group.

    The one that was told to me was told to me by my nutritionist. She said that people who worked out for 3 groups of 20 minutes with 10-min breaks btwn kept their metabolism burning ‘higher’ for longer than those who worked out for 60 minutes straight. (Granted, those 10’s in there mean that you need 80 minutes to accomplish this.) Reason: If you’re doing a fairly intense workout to begin with, your heart rate is going to stay up there during those 10 minutes, so you’re not only giving your body a break in btwn, but you’re basically extending your ‘high burn’ for a while for, well, “free.” (har har)

    May this bless your confusion. 🙂

    — I’m in a state currently where if I were to work out strenuously for more than 30 minutes (quite possibly 30 minutes), I’d fall over and die. So for me, it’s kinda moot. 😀 Hauling my fat ass out the door just to go for a decent walk is a challenge, but hey, I did it twice today (go me).

    • Kim says:

      Well, hell. That makes perfect sense too!
      I guess what I need to do is try for 60 minutes all together when I can and on the days that’s not possible, just do what I can.
      I don’t want to get crazy about it, but for me it’s not a long drive to crazy, just a short putt.
      I’m glad you got two walks – it was too effing hot here for that yesterday 😦

  3. Laura says:

    I’ve heard that consecutive is better than splitting it up, too, for that whole heart rate increase thing. But in the end, you do what you can do. 60 minutes of exercise a day, regardless of how it’s accomplished, is better than 30. I myself am thinking of splitting up into two workouts per day so I can get more exercise overall – I’m like TB, I can’t do an extended workout in the morning or at night because of my work schedule, but I can do two shorter workouts, one in the morning and one at night. As long as I, you know, get up a little earlier in the morning. I don’t know what it is about that particular hurdle, I just DO NOT want to get up at 6:00 instead of 6:45. But I realize I’m going to have to suck it up and do it, and hopefully it’ll become a routine instead of the painful, painful torture it is right now.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I literally could not make myself move out of bed at 6:30 this morning and I’m pissed about it. I’m going to have to stop keeping the same hours as Brian – he’s a night owl and it’s going to be the ruin of me.

  4. crisitunity says:

    What a great post! I’m so glad to hear the happiness and the hopefulness in your words.

    My $0.02, not backed by any studies or nutritionist info, is that It Just Depends. What TB said about level of fitness is true, I think. For someone like Jillian to lose any weight, she would probably have to cut back her food intake to almost nothing and do cardio 90 minutes a day. For someone weighing 400 pounds to lose weight, they’d have to eat a normal diet and walk for a half hour a day on a treadmill, building up to more as they lost more. When I was losing, I was eating about 1/3 less than I had been and exercising 20-30 minutes a day 5 times a week. That was enough over a couple of months to lose almost 20 pounds. But I was 26, with the metabolism that goes along with that.

    But there are so many variables, too. If you eat breakfast, your metabolism will be higher earlier in the day, so you’ll burn more calories throughout the day; if you eat breakfast at McDonald’s, you’ll blow your calorie intake. Ack! Too many moving parts for Jillian to say something like that reliably. My vote is to find the balance of diet and exercise that works FOR YOU to lose weight, even if that’s just 20 minutes a day – it might be enough.

    But yes, Laura’s right, 60 minutes a day is of course better than 30.

    • Kimmothy says:

      A big part of it also depends on the amount of calories you personally need to be losing and that depends largely on things like BMI and heart rate, which to get an accurate count I’d need a heart rate monitor which I don’t have. A lot of this is guess work and common sense.

  5. Whiskeymarie says:

    For me, I just shoot for 60-75 minutes total each day and hope for the best. So far, it’s working. For a while a few years ago, I was dragging my ass out of bed at 5:30 to go to a 6:00 Bikram (hot) yoga class that was 90 minutes long. I LOVED the class, but getting up that early was bullshit (for me- I don’t “do” mornings). I miss how the yoga made me feel/look, but I’m happy with the balance I have now where exercise is concerned.
    Like Woody Allen says- “Whatever works”. I agree- do what works for you. Still push yourself, but don’t even worry about stuff like 60 minutes all together or split up. If you watch what you eat, keep exercising, and don’t let yourself be defeated by small setbacks, you’ll be bouncing a quarter off of your sweet booty in no time.
    😉

Leave a Reply

