Shifting Identities

There is a wonderful book by author Julia Cameron called The Artist’s Way. It just so happens that my weekly art group is discussing Chapter 4,  Recovering a Sense of Integrity. It is about self definition and integration of new self awareness.  The timing of this chapter couldn’t be more synchronistic.

I think we are all entering a phase where we are becoming new people. We are no longer loafers who amble along turning a blind eye to what we put in our mouths,  what we see in the mirror, or what our bodies are telling us. We are becoming more aware of our SELVES.  We pay attention now. We gingerly monitor our aches and pains so as not to go too far and take ourselves out of the game. We have become familiar with healthy foods,  healthy portions, and healthy habits. We know what will make us feel good, what will make us feel guilty, and what will make us feel just plain YUCK!

When I started this journey I basically wanted my outside to match who I picture myself to be on the inside. I can do comparisons to what I used to be, but that was a different time and I was a different person (with a different metabolism and different responsibilities).  Now I look forward to looking in the mirror and seeing someone who obviously takes good care of themselves,  who values and respects their body, and who is vibrant and ready to embrace life’s many challenges and adventures. 

The author writes:  “Shifts in taste and perception frequently accompany shifts in identity. One of the clearest signals that something healthy is afoot is the impulse to weed out, sort through, and discard old clothes, papers, and belongings.  When the search-and-discard impulse seizes you, two crosscurrents are at work–the old you is grieving and leaving, while the new you celebrates and grows strong. (I’m thinking of Kim cleaning  out her closet and having such a strong emotional response—you’re getting stronger, girl!)

I’m in the process of weeding out my studio in particular, and actually the whole house in general. It seems like a nesting is taking place. Like I’m getting ready for the birth of a new self.

I believe that as I go through this process, the more I examine and question how the F*** I got to this point, I  just might be more prepared to not let it happen again.

5 Responses to Shifting Identities

  1. Kim says:

    That was excellent! And how true, too. I said to my sister yesterday that the clothes fitting again and the better appearance in the mirror are just really good side effects, but what’s really great is just the overall feeling of BETTER.

    • huladog says:

      It’s funny how it starts out as wanting to fit into clothes, and then just blossoms into being really happy with who you are. Then life just seems easier.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Damn, this sounds like a book I should put on my reading list!

    • huladog says:

      I totally recommend it! It’s for all creative types/artists, but there is so much in there just about life.

  3. Dyskinesia says:

    This was absolutely beautiful and inspiring, Shari. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

