Getting Loved Ones on Board

I was really disappointed to have missed TB’s radio show last night, though very happy to find out from Laura I still have a chance to hear it. Something happened in our household that rarely occurs – Brian turned an alarming shade of green and almost immediately after started barfing. For the next two hours I played nurse-wife until he finally fell into a sweaty, twitchy sleep. Like I said, he very rarely gets sick, but when he does, he doesn’t play. And just for the record, I’ve never seen a person ACTUALLY TURN GREEN until I met him. It’s almost fascinating, as I always thought that was just a figure of speech.

Here’s the thing. Laura has talked before about what a challenge it is to get her husband to eat vegetables. My sister used to have trick her husband into eating them, until she finally got him used to a select few. My cousin was once married to this dick who only ate macaroni and cheese and Jack Daniels. I’m happy Brian likes a wide variety of food and that includes all vegetables, except asparagus and peas. (This doesn’t include “field peas,” “butter beans,” “lima beans,” or any of those other redneck peas, just the normal ones I like). It’s a pleasure cooking for someone who loves to eat.

No, the problem is more this. Now that I’ve become more health conscious, how do I make him see he needs to come along for the ride? I’ve already established he doesn’t have any kind of weight problem, what with having the metabolism of a twelve-year-old Olympic gymnast. So no motivation there. He can eat the four Southern food groups: fried, gravy, casserole and cheese without a care in the world. And often does. Add to that a somewhat problematic Monster Energy drink addiction (photographic proof below):
Monster
along with a few other things I’d rather not discuss here, per se, but have talked about elsewhere. Nothing to the extreme, I don’t think, but enough so that I have to remind him when things like last night happen he’s not twenty-three anymore, that his once stomach-of-steel might be getting a little rusty around the edges.

I don’t expect him to jump up and Shred with me, I only ask him to go on the occasional dog walk and that’s only in the cooler months. I don’t want to nag (more than I already do). It’s just that I kind of love the guy and want him as healthy as possible for a good long time. I do have a little bit of longing to be one of those bike riding couples, and whenever I bring it up he says he *might* like to do that sometime, but I don’t know if it would actually ever happen.

He would also like it very much if I wanted to be one of those poker playing, Playstation playing couple, but I can tell you that ain’t happening anytime soon either. I don’t know. I guess I should just be thankful he does get a lot of exercise at work on most days. I guess I’ll just start putting fruit and veggies in his lunch and hope he gets hungry enough to eat them.

14 Responses to Getting Loved Ones on Board

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Did you just call butter beans abnormal, “redneck peas?”

    Put ’em up, sister. Them’s fightin’ words.

    Trade him a monthly couples’ poker night or an hour of Playstation for eating his veggies? Or does that sound too much like a little kid’s bribe?

    (I do say that if you whooped his butt in penny poker every once in a while it might surprise you how much fun it can be!)

    • Kimmothy says:

      Butter beans are EVIL!
      I actually really enjoy poker, but the online version intimidates the hell out of me for some reason. He is trying to get me to sit at a quarter table so I won’t feel so bad if I lose. That might be a good bribe idea!

      • Taoist Biker says:

        I’d suggest playing small-money poker-night stuff with friends first, if you can. Which I can’t, because, hey, no friends.

        (You can keep this a secret if you want, but I still say Harrington’s method is the best. Go Action Dan on him and clean him out. 😀 )

  2. Laura says:

    You could get a Wii… that’ll give him some sort of exercise, anyway. The boxing games look like a lot of fun.

    The trick to getting any man to do anything you want them to do, is to make them think IT WAS THEIR IDEA in the first place. Sorry, TB and MTAE, but tis true.

  3. Shari says:

    I used to be anti-Wii, because c’mon what about playing the “real” thing, people? But, of course, now I’m thinking the Wii Fit might be kinda fun. Damn those pods!

    Yes, I think the bribe should be, come for a walk with the dog, and then a BJ afterwards. Pretty soon, Brian will be waiting with the leash, saying, “Hey Babe, ya wanna walk the dog?” Everyone wins. The dog will even be smiling.

    • Kim says:

      I know what you mean, though when I finally got to try Wii bowling it was really a lot of fun.
      I like the idea for the family walks. We used to do it all the time, but I know nowadays Brian would rather not spend too much time outside after work. This all changes in the fall, which is just one more reason I look forward to it every year.

  4. I do give in with my wife for dietary things. She keeps me loaded up on vegetables and small salad each night with dinner…even milk.

    Meat is more fun than carrots though…

  5. crisitunity says:

    I have this problem too. Not with diet, but with exercise. BF happily eats whatever I make, whether vegan or deep-fried, but he has a pregnancy tummy and lives a MASSIVELY sedentary lifestyle. I cannot figure out how to talk him into exercising so he’ll be around and healthy for as long as possible.

Leave a Reply

