Scare Factor

So, earlier this morning I got a call from my mom to my cell phone.

This would normally be considered bad news, except she’d tried to reach us last night while I was off watching moon movies with Boy.  And I knew they were hoping their broken AC was fixed on Monday, so I assumed she was just letting me know they were back in business, especially since I called to check in with them in that regard on Saturday.

Actually, it was bad news.

I’m sure most of you know by now that I grew up in a little neighborhood that could best be described as clannish.  We were almost all related in some form or fashion, and anyway had been living together for a generation or three.  We were close.

There was a family across the street from me – my aunt’s adopted brother and his family.  The kids were younger than me, the oldest being a girl, about five years younger.

Her husband just had a massive heart attack this weekend.  As in, shocked him back multiple times and failed.  Broke ribs giving CPR.  Turned blue.  Airlifted to one hospital (out of state, even), had to be diverted to another because of fog.

He’s stable, now, but in critical condition.

He’s thirty-five.

As it so happens, I didn’t really know the guy well, but according to my mom when we were both infants we shared a crib together at the babysitter’s.

I don’t know if he had familial risk factors, but I don’t think he was in the most horrible shape.  (However, being from back home, the idea that his diet was not diabetes- or heart-disease-friendly is a moderately safe assumption.  But I don’t know that.)

Holy shit.  Talk about a wake-up call.

11 Responses to Scare Factor

  1. crisitunity says:

    Okay, but…sometimes these things happen. Sometimes people have prolapsed valves. Don’t freak out TOO bad.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      I’m not really too freaked, more like I have a good hard reminder to pay closer attention to my health and diet than I sometimes have.

      I’m more scared for my old neighbor and her kids. 😦

  2. Laura says:

    What Crisitunity said. Sometimes folks take almost perfect care of themselves and they still have a heart attack. Sometimes folks eat half their weight in fat every single day and they live to be a hundred and twelve. There ain’t nuthin’ you can do but your best, which doesn’t ease the worry but it’s nice to say anyway. Right?

  3. Kimmothy says:

    I’m not going to say don’t freak, because after reading that I’M freaked.
    Wow; I hope he’ll be okay.

  4. dyskinesia says:

    Wow. They have LITTLE kids too. 😦

  5. Shari says:

    I do think it is a wake-up call to realize how precious life is and how a lot of times our health IS something that we can have a big effect on. Too many people wait until something happens before waking up. Not to put too much scare factor into it, but the reality is that most of our food is not as nutritious as it once used to be. Even “healthy” fruits and veggies don’t have as many real nutrients as you think. So I don’t think it pays to get freaked, but being aware is priceless. Also, what a wonderful message we are sending to our bodies, our selves when we take care of them. So if anything every happens or (when) it does, we won’t be filled with regret over how we could have lived our lives differently. I’m thinking there will be some comfort in knowing that we did are best to be as healthy as possible for as long as possible.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      That’s what I’m going to try to use it for: just a realization that I need to both appreciate what I have and take care of myself so I have it a little longer!

Leave a Reply

