Pending goals.

Everybody knows that it’s nonsense to try to goal-set before an impending vacation. We’re leaving on Thursday morning. I’m only holding myself to the vague, nonspecific ambition to not be a complete pig, and to walk and hike as much as possible, for the next couple of weeks.

Hah. I haven’t really had any restrictions on myself for the past couple of weeks, either. I’ve ignored my diet and only exercised a few times. Feh, I’m okay with that. No sense in stressing about my slackardness now, right?

BUT. When I come back from vacation, it’s going to be a whole new ball game.

It will be the perfect time, after being out of any kind of routine for the duration of our vacation, to establish an altered routine that focuses on my health and fitness. There will be, by that time, only another month or six weeks of truly miserable weather. Then I’ll be able to go outside again, and add options to my pretty stale exercise regime. Now that my foot pain is fixed, I’m going to attempt the Couch to 5k running plan. We’re going to go for more bike rides. We’re going to go hiking.

Fall is Spring, in this instance. A time for refreshed attitudes and renewed energy. And I’m really looking forward to it.

2 Responses to Pending goals.

  1. Shari says:

    The time will be perfect to start from where you are. Is there any other way? This is an ongoing thing. We won’t all lose weight like clockwork, watching the pounds melt off week after week. The important thing is to stay in it and conscious of what we want to achieve. The only way to fail is to quit. You sound like you have it all planned out. So enjoy yourself on vacation and return with a renewed sense of determination!

  2. Kimmothy says:

    I think you have a healthy and realistic attitude about it. Vacation isn’t the time to be worrying about the rules of everyday life. I had a great time, but I’m also excited to get back into the swing of everything.

Leave a Reply

