The Damage

McDonald’s
Steak & Shake
Olive Garden
Ruby Tuesday’s
Angello’s Italian
Starbucks
TGIFriday’s
Another Pizza Place I Can’t Remember the Name Of
Cannon Brewpub
Happy Chinese (Okay, this was actually the night I got home. But hey -would YOU feel like cooking after a weeklong road trip??)

The above is obviously a list of places where I dined over the past week. I thought about detailing what I ate along with the restaraunts, but really, who wants to get depressed right off the bat on this, the last morning before my vacation ends? I’m already sad enough as it is, what with the whole vacation ending thing. I look at that list in awe, as that’s more eating out than I’ve done in the past few months and it was all accomplished in seven days.

As planned, I did not make one entry into my calorie journal while I was gone. As not planned, I did not exercise once. Well, unless you count the hour or so my sister and I walked laps around the hotel in our flip flops and pajama pants one night. Which I don’t. Or the few minutes I was holding on for dear life while riding on a gigantic tube behind a speeding boat. Which doubtfully counts as an aerobic action, but certainly felt like exercise the next day when it hurt to raise my arms above my head. This speaks volumes about my increased upper body strength, however. Back in the day, when I was growing up around lakes and rivers and the Gulf, my weakness sadly thwarted most water-related sports. I spent many water skiing outings driving the boat.

Anyway. It was with some trepidation that I stepped on the scale this morning, all those ridiculous meals of the previous seven days flashing through my head. Especially since the day I left I’d gleefully stepped off the scale finally, FINALLY having reached the ten-pounds-down mark I’d been striving for for what seemed like an eternity.

Four of those ten pounds have reappeared.
While that is slightly disappointing, it’s not at all surprising.
I guess it could’ve been worse.
At least I didn’t give in to the gas station SlimJim.

That sound you hear?
That’s me, creakily climbing back up onto the wagon.

10 Responses to The Damage

  1. Count the flip-flop walk…sounds like you’d better. 🙂

    • Kim says:

      Yeah…I never thought about it that way.
      I sure am looking forward to the 30DS this afternoon. Like one would look forward to a punch in the face.

  2. crisitunity says:

    Poor Kim. I hope you know that eating like that during a road trip was impossible to avoid, therefore the gain is not at all your fault.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    Four pounds for a week’s worth of fun vacation?

    I’ll make that trade. Yup yup.

    Glad you’re back – it’s been too damned quiet around the blogosphere with you gone and Laura preparing to be gone!

  4. Shari says:

    Yay! Kimmy’s back! And that sounds like a whole lotta fun for that fewa pounds.

  5. dyskinesia says:

    The super good news is that 4 pounds put on last week is 4 pounds easier to lose now than when they had been there for several months. I have no idea the physiological reasoning for that, but it certainly seems to be true! Besides which, a couple of them probably have more to do with sugar and water than anything else since you didn’t get the exercise that you were used to and were out of routine. SO glad that you had a great time – you deserved it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

