Stuck in Limbo, Feel Like a Bimbo

You may have noticed my light posting here since I’ve been back from vacation. You may not have noticed. Either way there’s a reason for this.

I’m in limbo hell.

I knew it was going to be hard to get back up on the horse after the break in my routine. I had no idea it was going to be this hard. This is why I was nervous about it to begin with – I know myself well. When I’m in a routine, I’m in it all the way. Any deviation from it however and I’m completely screwed.

I got home on a Friday and the excuses started almost immediately:

“Well I’m home, but it’s the weekend and I’m still *technically* on my well-deserved vacation!”
“There’s so much to do to get back into real life mode; laundry, errands, spending quality couch time catching up on everything on the dvr.”
“Wow, the Monday back to work after vacation is ROUGH – I’m WAY too tired to exercise today.”

So on. So forth.

While I’ve taken some tiny, tentative steps; starting back with the calorie journal, quitting the Diet Cokes again, two before-work walks – I think I’ve expended more calories fighting with myself about it than any actual exercise this week. And it’s horrifying to me the amount of time I’ve been slacking already. Because if I’m going to be honest here, I didn’t do much in the way of exercise the week before I left either. I figured the running around I did trying to get myself and the car ready for the trip counted for something, right? Yeah, okay.

But I know all it’s going to take is a few consecutive days of getting back into it and I’ll feel so much better. And while I’m not at all joking when I say the August temperatures are a real drain on my motivation and energy levels, I’m not going to let that thwart the progress I’ve made so far and all the future work I still need to do.

It’s always easier to fall off the wagon than climb back up, but nobody ever said this was gonna be easy. Not easy, but still very much worth the effort.

6 Responses to Stuck in Limbo, Feel Like a Bimbo

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I was off yesterday, and I literally laid there in bed this morning when my alarm went off, even before fully gaining consciousness, trying to come up with some reason why my alarm must have been on by mistake.

    I was just off yesterday! I stayed up late to do the show! Surely I must have fucked up and turned the alarm on accidentally and really I can just sleep in. Right? Right?

    Then, stupid me, I fully regained consciousness.

    Stupid consciousness.

  2. Routines are hard to get back into when you stop them. Since I am going back to my hometown without much of an schedule, I plan on running around some of the old streets that I used to pound when I was a teenager. That might keep it interesting.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I’m sure you’ll stick to that a lot better than I did, considering I can’t even get myself to run AT ALL. EVER.
      And for you, maybe the running will help keep you from climing up on a roof up there. Hopefully.

  3. Laura says:

    I’m right there with you, Kim! We can re-bandwagon together, now that we’re both back from vaca.

Leave a Reply

