Dealing with Dog Days

I was trying to think of another place I could bitch and moan about the weather since I’d already used up the avenues that are Twitter, Facebook, my blog and even an email to a local weatherman. Then I remembered, “Ah! The weather is also effing up my energy levels and exercise routine – perfect!”

I don’t know if I’ve always been this intolerant of both hot AND cold weather, but it must be an absolute joy for Brian. He watches me obsess over the thermostat and once incredulously stated I must have like a three degree window of comfort, period. I think he’s right. And whether it’s from getting older, the weight I’ve put on over the last few years, my thyroid issue or just another neurosis of mine, it’s pretty damn annoying -even to me.

In the process of trying to get back in the swing of the diet/exercise thing, the sauna-like conditions outside have thwarted me but good. When the news people are warning you to stay hydrated and try to avoid going outside unless it’s absolutely necessary, I’m not exactly rushing to get outdoors and exert myself. Not when walking the ten feet from my office’s front door to my car feels like the sun trying to take out its frustrations on me. The worst part is it’s affecting how much, or should I say how little, I’m accomplishing INSIDE as well. Oh lethargy, how I despise you so.

We went to watch the college’s football team practice the other night and when I saw them break out into lunges, squats, running drills and push-ups, I actually got embarrassed for my level of wussitude. I thought about how Laura and the rest of the Arizona residents handle their weather and the only thing I can come up with is: (A) they’re used to it and (B) they’re an extremely hearty and badass folk. There are days Brian comes home from work so completely soaked with sweat, he throws his clothes right into the washing machine. And doesn’t even really complain. I realize there are lots of people out there who deal with it and do it WAY better than I would.

But I will not be defeated! For the next few weeks I know I’m going to have to do my workout first thing in the morning. Yes it’s already in the high 70’s and soupy at 6:30 a.m. but compared to what the afternoons are like, that’s nothing, nothing I tell you! But logically I know Fall is coming and it won’t be too much longer. And I know from experience that will turn this whole thing around, because during that, my favorite time of year, I look for any and all excuses to go outside – that’s when it feels a lot less like exercise and a lot more like fun. I’ve been talking about it for awhile, but in the next few weeks I’m going to start searching for a bike in earnest.

Toodling around the neighborhood or a park on a cute bicycle in my light-weight sweatpants and short-sleeved hoodie? Seeing the leaves turn and fall in the cool crisp air? Just the thought of that is enough to get me through the next few weeks.

7 Responses to Dealing with Dog Days

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    The gym is air conditioned, but barely. Still, I’ll take it. Just walking across campus yesterday made me burst into sweat. I was wearing a new red shirt that hadn’t been washed yet. “No biggie,” I thought.

    Yeah. That undershirt is now a pink dustrag.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I thought about walking across campus today at lunch then thought better of it.
      Which reminds me – I hope your home a/c is being fixed AS WE SPEAK!!!

  2. Laura says:

    Here’s how we badass AZ mofo’s deal with summers. We stay inside. We scurry from our air conditioned car to our air conditioned office, back out to our air conditioned car, to our air conditioned homes. We treat going outdoors in summer like most treat going outdoors in winter – only as a last resort, if we absolutely have to. Sure, there are some crazies out there who are jogging and biking in one hundred-and-fuck degree weather (even first thing in the morning it’s pushing 100), but I ain’t one of ’em. I think the heat has addled their brains, really. I work out INSIDE – elliptical, weights, workout videos. Only in the winter do I walk, jog, bike, hike, or do any other outdoor related exercise.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I admire you; that would drive me insane. You see how much I bitch about only a few of weeks of this hellified weather.
      How cool does it get there in the winter? You must be so damn glad when you get that break!

  3. Shari says:

    First you have always been obsessed with the weather…or maybe just the weather channel, but it’s all related. Second, I agree, I’m going to start the workout earlier in the morning, it’s the only way it has a chance to work. I don’t mind the heat, but trying to run in the heat is a whole different ball game.

Leave a Reply

