Ah, my darling husband.

The scene: Calvin and I are relaxing on the couch last night, watching “Gary, Unmarried”. The female protagonist of this particular show (Paula Marshall) looks like this:

PaulaMarshall

So, Calvin turns to me and says, “You know? She reminds me a lot of you.”

I look, a little incredulous, because she’s really really pretty, and I’m all hair up in a clip, grubbies on, slightly sweaty after futzing with dinner and night chores.

He continues, “You’ve got better hair, though.”

Now I’m chuffed and flattered and thinking, oh what a wonderful husband I have.

(Wait for it.)

“Well, except,” he continues, “she’s a lot skinnier than you are.”

Ladies and Gentlemen, my husband.

I started cracking up – because, really, you HAVE to laugh when he stuffs his foot so far into his mouth that he’s nibbling on his kneecap. He looked confused for a moment, then a dawning horror broke over his face as he realized just what he said. “No! I mean! Uh! Wait! I just meant… !”

Uh huh.

He’s keeping me humble, people.

7 Responses to Ah, my darling husband.

  1. Kimmothy says:

    Ah, from the mouth of babes (and men).
    I’d pay good money to see the look on his face when he realized!!

  2. crisitunity says:

    Calvin, I’ve got a GREAT excuse for you: “I meant skinny as in emaciated…skinny ugly, not skinny good.”

  3. dyskinesia says:

    Literal truth or no, he had an awesome segue to nookie there and totally ran over it with a steam roller. That’s what marriage does to ya. 😉

  4. boundandgags says:

    I don’t know if it’s marriage that does it to you (although I’m not saying it doesn’t help) as much as a case of over shooting his ability. It’s not his fault. I don’t think any guy can pull off the elusive triple compliment. I’ve heard rumor that it’s been accomplished but I’ve never known anyone to do it. I stop at one. I know my limits and I’m not willing to throw myself against that door. That’s the door to the ugly room.

  5. Calvin says:

    I know it does not help but the exact statement was
    “But she is a bit thinner than you”
    Girl ears hear but your a giant fat cow!

Leave a Reply

