One can o’ worms coming right up!

Okay, all you runners out there, I need some opinions. Okay, here’s my situation. I will be doing a 5K on September 12th. It was my goal to run the whole thing, but at this point with my cardio, unless something miraculous, like a cold front in Florida, happens between now and then, I don’t think it’s going to happen. But I am looking forward to doing it as I have never done one before and I am excited for the experience. Plus, it’s called the Rock and Run and they have bands playing throughout the route and the more I talk to people, the more friends I am discovering are participating in it.

So, here’s my quandry. My running pal in the hood recommends I run at a very slow pace to run longer. I have tried this and even at a very slow pace I know I won’t make the whole 3 miles.

Secondly, my husband ran with me today, and he recommends I run normally and if I need to walk at some point do so, and then run again. A run-walk approach. He believes this will strengthen my cardio quicker and in the long run (no pun intended) I will be able to run farther. He looked at my form today and said I looked like I was shuffling along like an old man….my dad in particular!

So, I’d like some opinions on what to do, what is the best way to run. I believe I enjoy it more when I run normally and just go for as long as I can, and then a little bit more, and then walk. It seems funner. So I guess I have to ask myself what my real intention is.

On top of this, there is an article in Fitness this month on how run/walking actually burns more calories than just regular running.

Okay, I welcome your valuable opinions now. Oh, and by the way, I’m doing an experiment tomorrow and am going to run/walk the 5K to check my time.

2 Responses to One can o’ worms coming right up!

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I know ZERO about running, but I’d say do the run/walk. My feeling is that there’s no shame in dropping to a walk if it means finishing instead of dropping out.

    • Shari says:

      Thanks. I’m thinking the same thing, and the last thing I want to turn this into is a “shame” thing because I can’t run as fast or as far as someone else. One thing I’ve learned from this blog is that we might all have the same general goals of health and weight loss, but we are all different in our daily paths. I’m getting ready to run/walk, I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

