Meh-xercise

Wanna know an easy way to set yourself up for complete failure? Announce to the world you’re going to work out to an exercise tape every day for a month.

Yeah. I am awesome-opposite.

While I have managed to squeeze in some form of exercise on average of four or five days a week, including the Shred, I have certainly NOT done it every day. I don’t know what I was thinking, except that every once in awhile my little brain gets excited about an idea and I have a hard time keeping it to myself. Not only that, but I seem to have hit the plateau wall from hell. When I started this whole thing, I managed to lose ten pounds and that is something and I’m happy about it. But since then? I’ve been dwelling in the stagnant waters of Meh.
I’ve actually had the following thoughts lately:

Well, MOST of my clothes fit now – that’s good enough.
Winter is coming anyway and I’ll soon be living in hoodies and jeans. That fit anyway.
No one is seeing me naked but Brian and he’s contractually obliged to be nice.
We’re all going to die in the end anyway, so what’s the difference?

I’m not sure what the answer is to find my motivation again, but I’d love it if I could figure it out.
Any ideas?

8 Responses to Meh-xercise

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    No ideas.

    I’ve been pondering a post lately entitled “Wherein We All Suck” which would basically be three sentences in which I castigate us and me chief of all for sucking.

    This week and last week I’ve been good…but dude. There are another 50 left in the year. Plenty of opportunity for me to wuss out.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I think “Wherein We All Suck” would cover it quite nicely. I don’t even take solace in the fact I’m not alone in my suckitude; I just want to kick all our asses back into gear! Which would require too much energy, so nevermind.

  2. Laura says:

    Maybe your motivation is hiding where mine is. I was telling Calvin that he and I need to re-bandwagon in a big way. All of my freelance stuff (and I just added more to it) is makes me sit on my ass all day every day in front of the computer, and it’s screwing me up in a big way. So, I need to reorganize and reprioritize.

    We’ll all get back to it eventually!

  3. crisitunity says:

    My only idea is to ask yourself what motivated you in the first place. I’ve only missed two days in the last three weeks, and the reason is because I keep the motivation in my mind that I have to be ready not to be panting and heaving and making a fool of myself at teacher training. You gotta keep a steady eye on what you were looking for when you got started.

    However…I am all in favor of accepting yourself as you are, if you can be content and happy. If enough of your clothes fit that you’re satisfied with the Kimmothy that now is, I’m certainly not going to stand over you and screech like Jillian.

  4. Shari says:

    Give yourself and break and tune in to TBL. That got me started before and I’m hoping it will be a big motivator now as well.

  5. Shari says:

    I don’t know why, but I found the line….”We’re all going to die anyway.” hilarious. Maybe I’m in sugar shock from eating a handful of M&Ms and drinking a Coke.

Leave a Reply

