Drastic Measures

Okay, after watching last week’s episode of Biggest Loser, I’ve been really giving some thought to my diet. In general, I don’t eat poorly. I feel like I eat healthily but I do have a tendency toward the standing snack. This is a snack that is consumed while standing at the pantry in small amounts….like 1 Oreo when I am putting the package away from the grocery store. Or a few Doritos when I am folding the bag closed after packing my daughter’s lunch. Individually these things aren’t diet killers, but collectively. Oh Boy.

I have really upped my exercise amount  in the last 6 months and still am not seeing the results I’d like to. So, I’m focusing on the diet now. And I don’t mean “watching my diet” because I clearly have been doing a lot of watching and not actively adjusting it. So, this is my plan.

For the next 2 weeks, I will institute the good old Slim Fast shakes for breakfast and mostly for lunch. (The Cappuccino Delight is actually…delightful!) I will reserve the option to substitute cottage cheese and salsa or tuna fish. For dinner, I will have a measured (eye-balled), balanced meal. I’m not kidding you or me if I say I’m going to stick to chicken breasts and lean meats and low carbs. That is really, really not going to happen. BUT, I can vow to have only 1 piece of pizza rather than 2, and keep the carbs as a small side, rather than star of the plate. I can limit my bread intake at restaurants and I can skip the English Toffee Creamer in my coffee. For 2 weeks. I can do it! I’ll let you know if I get results. As my reward, if I succeed, I will be enjoying guilt-free, buttered popcorn, when we go see “Where The Wild Things Are” which releases here Oct. 16th.

4 Responses to Drastic Measures

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    If I didn’t have a wife and child I could definitely go back on a crash diet.

    Damn them, they actually want PALATABLE food.

    • Shari says:

      If I didn’t have a husband and child, I probably wouldn’t need to lose weight. There is something to be said for the phrase….Fat and Happy! But, 2 weeks isn’t that long, we’ll see what happens. And it’s not a total crash diet. That would be yogurt and celery for 2 weeks! And I am definitely not going there.

  2. We just keep (well…my wife keeps) Doritos and Oreos from ever making it into the house. Maybe that is a big help for me. I’d eat them if they were there.

    Good Luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

