Confession time.

I haven’t done any purposeful exercise (meaning, a WORKOUT, not, say, a walk with Jen after lunch) since sometime in July. I haven’t been taking my vitamins, or paying attention to how much water I drink during the day. I’ve been eating whatever the hell I want, too. Now, other than perhaps one or two pounds, I have been able to get away with this shameful behavior with little consequence. My clothes still fit, I still look the same in the mirror.

But.

I FEEL like crap. Slothful, and achy, and I haven’t been sleeping well. Aha, there lie the consequences of my actions! I knew they were around here somewhere.

Calvin got the results back from his doctor – the high blood pressure and high cholesterol haven’t done any damage to his arteries or heart, so far. All the tests and scans and whatnot came back normal. BUT, the doctor literally said, “If you don’t start getting exercise and eat much better than you have been, you’re going to die.” How’s THAT for some scare tactics?

We’ve been doing much MUCH better with making healthy food choices – for God’s sake, the last time we ate out, Calvin ordered a salad. We’ve all but quit drinking altogether – only a light beer, here and there, instead of a couple of beers a night. Vegetables are making a much more frequent appearance in our household, and they’re actually eaten before they can rot away in the crisper!

Still, I personally have been making unhealthy choices and need to work harder on portion size, butter-loading, and cutting out “the whites” (bread/wheat, pasta, corn, potatoes). There are vast improvements to be made. It’s frustrating that I have the KNOWLEDGE to do what needs to be done, but I am severely lacking in the GUMPTION.

Calvin’s down in Tucson for a couple of days, but when he gets back we’re going to figure out a workout routine that we can do together. The bikes will be coming out soon – rumor has it that we’ll see temps in the 80’s by the end of the week. The weight set will be put to use again, and perhaps someday I’ll see visible evidence of triceps again. AcronymCo’s gym is five minutes away, too, if I can convince Calvin to go. He’s like me – doesn’t like to exercise in public, but the gym has more stuff in it than we have at home, not the least of which is a stable of treadmills.

In the meantime, I have a date with the elliptical this afternoon. I’ve started tracking my food intake and exercise over at Sparkpeople again, too. They’ve added a route tracker in conjunction with Google Maps that is extremely handy for calculating distance/time/calories burned when walking/jogging/biking around the neighborhood, and you can save the routes that you commonly use.

Finally, last night I cracked out the box o’ vitamins and filled up our vita-caddys. Men’s multi, fish oil, Co Q10, and niacin for Calvin; Woman’s multi, fish oil, vitamin d, calcium, and ginkgo biloba for me. Oh, and glucosamine for both of us, if I can remember to buy another damn bottle the next time I’m at the store.

I’m hoping that with the two of us motivating one another, plus the excellent support that I get from my fellow No-Buttsters, this habit of re-bandwagoning will become a thing of the past, and Calvin and I will establish some healthy habits that withstand the test of time.

We shall see.

8 Responses to Confession time.

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    I sucked it up a couple of weeks ago after that long trip/busy/trip sort of thing that had me go three or four weeks without a workout. Then week before last, I made it to the gym 4 times in 5 days. Awesome!

    Then I got sick. Hey look, there goes my progress, right out the window!

    I think I’m eating better…well, not better, but I’m eating by the shovelful instead of the truckload…I just need to get with the exercise and stick with it.

    I find that if I get in the routine of GOING to the gym, then once I get there, I can do it. If I tried to work out at home? Lord knows I’d never be able to get anything done; there’d always be a handy distraction to use as an excuse…

    • Laura says:

      I know folks that still exercise when they’re sick – they swear it helps get rid of the illness, but I think it just makes a person even more sick.

      I am a VERY distracted person when it comes to avoiding exercise…

  2. crisitunity says:

    Good luck to you…let me know if you need any specific support and I’ll be right there with a motorized scooter and a gray sweatsuit.

  3. Small changes are the ones that usually stick. Big changes tend to make people unhappy. That is my experience.

  4. […] Which I Am Mistaken For a Chick I still haven’t worked out yet since I admitted to Laura how badly I suck; I should be able to get back on that horse next week.  But then again I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

