On the Wagon

Okay.  Tiff’s back on the wagon, Kim’s back on the wagon, Steve’s training for another marathon, and bless her flexible heart, Crisitunity is actually getting paid to pull the wagon for some others.  (Way to go, C-Tune!  Yes, I thought that nickname up yesterday and thought it would make you cringe.)

And so, finally ashamed of my own suckitude, I’m back on the wagon with one wussy workout yesterday and more on tap.

Even though I really enjoyed Crisitunity’s post about chucking the scale and I intend to stick with it and skip the weekly weigh-ins I was doing in the fall, I did do one weigh-in yesterday just as a benchmark.  And to see how badly I sucked over the long Thanksgiving-New Year break, pigging out without a single workout.  The result?  Not as bad as I feared, but still not good.  196, or 7 pounds heavier than my lightest weigh-in in the fall.  I can do better, and I will.

SO.  I’m going to gradually try to cut back on teh nomz, particularly the Dove chocolates I tend to keep stashed in my desk, and less gradually work my way UP in the gym.  And instead of doing all cardio like last time, this time I’m starting out directly with resistance training and cardio combined.

Yesterday’s workout:

Dumbbell bench press:  1 warm-up set, 5 sets of 10 reps, medium weight
Barbell incline bench press:  3 sets of 10, light-medium weight
*I was feeling fine in my chest/triceps, but had a little twinge in my shoulders, especially the right, so I played it very safe with the weight on this set.

At this point, I’d planned to switch over and do deadlifts, but both of the barbell power racks were occupado.  So I took that as a sign that I should go back to my old split workouts, at least for a while, so I went with chest/triceps and did a light version of my old tricep workout.

Lying arm extension w/curl bar
SUPERSET WITH
close-grip bench press:  1 warm-up set, 5 sets of  10, light weight

(For those who don’t read Ads & Muscle & Ads & Ads & Muscle & Ads & maybe a little Fitness Magazine, “Superset” means you move from one to the other without resting between.  In other words, I’d do a set of the arm extensions and then just bench press the bar for a set.)

I finished up with one set of 20 straight-leg raises in the Roman chair.

Then I went for 30 minutes of cardio – all of the ellipticals were taken (the place was still pretty busy, I’ll give these folks credit for not being two-week resolutionaries!) but I didn’t cave to the instinct to wuss out, and so I parked my butt on a recumbent bike for a half hour.

So far, 15 hours later, only minor soreness.  Maybe all those push-ups during the break really did help.  Plan:  Back/biceps workout on Wednesday.  Random workout on Thursday – perhaps all-cardio, perhaps deadlift/shoulders.  Optional workout on Friday (whichever one wasn’t done on Thurs).

Rinse, repeat for the next, oh, six to nine months before I decide to change up the routine.  THAT’S THE PLAN.  YOU HEAR ME, SELF?

*Minor note:   Radiohead does not make for great weightlifting music…but it does make for pretty good cardio music.  Gracias again, C-Tune.  😉

8 Responses to On the Wagon

  1. Kimmothy says:

    How weird. I slinked over here with my tail between my legs to see if anyone was home and I find this! I’m trying not to berate myself and instead use the energy to do positive things and it’s working out well. When I tentatively stepped on the scale this morning I was overjoyed to see I’d only gained back 4 of the 13 pounds I’d lost last time around. That is so encouraging to me, I’m literally floating around on air (and coffee). I’m happy for all of us and here’s to (re)newed beginnings!
    P.S. I find Kid Rock’s Devil Without a Cause to be a good exercising cd.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      You know it, Kee Yim! We’re all on this Lardass Train to Hotsville together. 😀

      Honestly, for weightlifting, I find that for me personally the more aggressive the music the better. My Smash the World works like a charm – so I have it stored as a playlist on ye olde iPod.

      For cardio, I tend to go with longer songs (makes it seem shorter – hello, Opeth and the 13-minute average opus!) and/or highly technical stuff that captures my attention and makes me forget I’m doing shit I hate. Radiohead fits the “I should pay attention to this” bill pretty well.

      Edit: I belatedly forgot that this ain’t my own personal blog, and I should reply to comments instead of edit/bold! Sorry!

  2. crisitunity says:

    I do not endorse the nickname “C-Tune.”

    Although it amuses me to think that my actual heart is as flexible as other parts of me. Good for you for legging up onto the horse again, and I’ll look forward to hearing more about it.

  3. Kimmothy says:

    “The Lardass Train to Hotsville” – HAHAHAHA!

  4. Kimmothy says:

    Sorry, one more thing. I’ve heard rumors that if you cut way back on refined sugar the craving for it goes away. I’m fixin’ to see if that’s true.

Leave a Reply

