Plugging Away

Nothing much to report, except a weirdly annoying pain in my left index finger right at the knuckle.  Mostly felt when I make a bar chord on my guitar.  WTF is up with that?

Yesterday’s workout:

Flat bench dumbbell press:  1 warm-up set, 5 sets x 10 reps, medium weight
Incline bench dumbbell press:  3 sets x 10 reps, light-medium weight

Seated two-hand dumbbell overhead press:   5 sets x 10 reps, medium weight
Rope pulldowns:  2 x 10, heavy weight (was using a different machine than I was used to – a lat pulldown machine, actually, and a “2” setting on that was heavier than a “5” setting on the usual!) – 1 x 10, medium weight (once I finally could get back on my usual machine)

Straight-leg lifts:  2 x 20

Cardio:  30 mins on elliptical, hillclimb program – started on level 4, had to back down to level 3 halfway through because the heart rate monitor was persistently saying “Are you sure you’re not having a heart attack, old man?”

Morning after:  I can kinda feel it in my chest and triceps, but barely.  I could have worked it harder, it seems.   Although I DON’T think I’ll apply that lesson to my back/biceps workout tomorrow.  Not quite yet.

6 Responses to Plugging Away

  1. Kimmothy says:

    That finger thing sounds like something I get every once in awhile. I don’t like mystery pains.
    I’m really wanting an elliptical machine. Unfortunately it is not in the budget right now.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      Mine either. Good thing I can use the U’s gym for free! If you guys have that perk, I recommend you look into it – surely there’s a gym like mine, the redheaded stepchild gym that gets the cast-off equipment. I’ve generally found that gym to be much less social-phobia-inducing when sweating and looking your most unattractive.

  2. Tiffany says:

    Glucosamine, my dear! That’ll take care of the pain right quick.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      I think it’s some kinda tendonitis, really. It is most noticeable not when I curl my index finger, but when I hold it straight and try to bend at the palm joint (like making an alligator movement).

  3. beej says:

    Re the finger. Stop picking your nose so hard.

Leave a Reply

