Keeping the Momentum

As I keep going with this, I wonder how much good it really does to keep reporting these workouts – hell, it’s already getting hard to come up with a title! – but I’ll keep at it for a little longer, at least.  If I’m boring you or, alternately, you think I should STFU and do it and quit talking about it so much, let me know.

Weight-assisted pull-ups:  1 warm-up, 3 sets x 10 medium weight, 2 x 10 light-medium weight
Bent-over rows:  4 sets medium weight

Preacher curls:  1 warm up, 5 x 10 light weight (alternating inside/outside grip)
Cable opposed curls:  4 x 10 light-medium weight  (Stand in the middle of a cable crossover machine with cables set to shoulder height – arms straight out to your sides, then curl each arm toward your head like you’re doing a double-bicep pose.  I like this exercise because it’s harder to cheat than a lot of other standing curls.)

Straight-leg lifts:  2 x 25

Cardio:  Elliptical, hillclimb, level 3, 30 min

Result:  Not really sore at all.  However, I DID essentially fall asleep about 8:30 last night.  I partially blame Dys for turning on Murphy’s Romance – cheesy 80s flick, true, and even though I like it, it’s hardly keep-you-awake stuff on its best day.  When Boy went to bed at 9, I flopped off the couch and just went on to bed.

5 Responses to Keeping the Momentum

  1. crisitunity says:

    Isn’t this what this site is for? To keep you checking in with yourself? You won’t bore us. Promise!

  2. I agree. I love to hear what everyone else is doing. Just the shear act of sharing is inspirational. Here’s what I’ve been doing since last Monday when I went for my Dr. appt and stepped on the scale. YIKES! I am not anywhere close to where I want to be. I haven’t really made any progress since we started this blog. Ugh! Well, I can’t say I haven’t made any progress, because I did start running, which is something! So, my new strategies include incorporating a food diary, which I have consistently kept all week. Yay! I am drinking my coffee black and have dramatically increased the water intake. It helps that I have to write it down, then I can actually keep track. Also, I have been having the same breakfast (1 small grapefruit and 1 Slim Fast shake) and same lunch (1/2 cup cottage cheese with 1/2 cup salsa plus 8 Triscuits). That way I don’t have to think about it. Dinner is a little more difficult as I am cooking for others. I am starting out by portion control and not having “just a little more” of whatever. After dinner, that’s it. Water is my new snack! I haven’t had any sweet treats since Monday and that has been fine and I feel like I accomplished something. I’ve been doing various workouts depending on the weather including walking, running, step-ups, weights, yoga, and every day doing the 100s (a crunch type ab thing). I’m going to weigh every Monday just to keep track and stop avoiding the issue. I’ll keep you posted.

  3. Ooops, I guess I should have done that as a post instead of a reply.

Leave a Reply

