Inspiration

I’ve been looking for it lately, from anywhere. Usually something like The Biggest Loser does the trick and I’ve taped Jillian’s new show but haven’t watched it yet. I know several people, including my mother-in-law who have done 3 or 5k’s recently and that makes me so proud. I love looking at before/after pictures and there are several fitness blogs I still check on a regular basis, but nothing lately seems to have done the trick in forcing my ass to part ways with the couch.

Until last night.

For the first time in I don’t know how long, I spoke to my friend who had the lapband surgery I previously wrote about here. It’s been eighteen, eighteen months already since the procedure. In that period of time, she’s lost 120 pounds. I stand in awe. She still has more she wants to lose, and although in all my excitement and rushed questions I didn’t ask what her goal weight is, she’s still steadily losing about six pounds a month and hopes to continue to do this until sometime in January, when she’ll begin the skin removal process, which in itself will involve several more surgeries.

We talked for over an hour, though mostly I was happy to just listen. She sounds different. Where she was always a person who actively sought happiness over wallowing – and she’s had the kind of life where being pissed off at everything would be more than understandable – she sounds proud. And confident. And kind of like her life has completely changed, which obviously it has. And I think the changes will continue; some perhaps more difficult than others. She told me a lot of divorces occur after someone goes through this, and it seems as though this might end up being the case for she and her husband. She’s an extremely kind and giving person, someone who always puts others before herself. But I think she’s realizing herself is someone also worth treating well and if her husband doesn’t start recognizing that, well, it’s going to be his loss. Literally.

I’m so freaking excited for her.
And I’m ready to feel that way for me again too.

6 Responses to Inspiration

  1. crisitunity says:

    Good for her, and good for you! Good luck!

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Hey, if my ass can complete a 5k, anything can happen!

    Go for it, K! Kick some ass!

  3. Tiffany says:

    Adding my “woot” to the other “woots”!

    WOOT!

Leave a Reply

