Breakfast Shake Recipe and Review

It’s fucking HOT in Arizona.

Oh dear, so sorry to start right off the bat with the F bomb.

Anyway, yeah. Hot. Which means I don’t want to cook, and I don’t want to eat anything warm. So I’m back on the breakfast shake/smoothie kick, which I’ve danced to off and on for several years. This morning’s attempt is thus:

One cup Silk Very Vanilla Soy Milk
One-half cup frozen organic blueberries
Two scoops (one serving) Aria Protein Powder, vanilla

Toss it all in a blender, blend on high until smooth, pour into a cup, stick in a straw, consume.

It’s decent. At first the vanilla flavor is rather overpowering, though it dies down after the first few sips. I think next time I’ll buy non-flavored soy milk if I’m going to use vanilla protein powder, and I might throw in another half-cup of berries as the blueberry flavor is somewhat hidden. Maybe a half-cup of soy milk and a half-cup of yogurt would be good, too. Anyway, here’s the stats for the recipe as above:

250 calories
5 grams of fat
31 grams of carbs
20 grams of protein
25 mg of cholesterol
3 grams of fiber
64 mg of calcium
256 mg of sodium
377 mg of potassium

4 Responses to Breakfast Shake Recipe and Review

  1. Kimmothy says:

    Would you believe me if I told you we don’t own a blender? A few years back a wild party that had banana daiquiris killed it and I never replaced it. I think it’s time, because this sounds good and I love me a good smoothie.
    Plus: HOTTER THAN DONKEY BALLS HERE TOO.

  2. I saw it was somewhere around 120 there this week…OUCH!

    Dry heat or hot…that is fuckingunbearable!

  3. Tes says:

    What a great breakfast shake! I love it. It sounds fresh and yummy.

  4. […] until probably the end of next week). Next is shower/clothes/grooming, and lunch (today is a protein shake). Then I do whatever useful thing it is that I have assigned for that day – grocery shopping, […]

Leave a Reply

