Not today.

I’m not going to do aerobics today.

1) I’m tired from a weekend out of town.
2) I have a screaming headache, and jumping up and down sounds very unappealing.
3) Working my body as I did over the weekend meant working the leg that’s injured, and although it feels fine today, I don’t want to push it, because it felt downright shitty last night.

These all sound like whiny excuses to me, so rather than give in when I really didn’t want to do aerobics, I decided that to compensate, this would be my dinner:

Almonds, olives, sun-dried tomatoes, spinach, and lettuce. And yes, I may have some leftover pasta later to supplement. (Carbs don’t do to me what they seem to do to everyone else.) Unfortunately, I added dressing afterward that was so salty I thought my tongue was going to shrivel up and fall out. The sodium must have calcified at the bottom; think I’ll throw that bottle out.

Anyway, I managed to justify not doing aerobics when, because of all the fast food and all the general quantity of food that I ate this weekend, I probably should have. But I wanted a rest, after driving 18 hours in a three-day span, and worrying about my leg, and not sleeping, and so on and so forth. Was this a good tradeoff or did I cheat?

4 Responses to Not today.

  1. Tiffany says:

    They’re not excuses, they’re reasons. The same kind of reasons that kept me from working out today – my back feels better, but not 100%, so I’m not going to push it and re-injure myself, make myself resent my workout, or otherwise derail my plans.

  2. Kimmothy says:

    I agree; there’s a difference and sometimes we get in that mode of feeling guilty when in reality as long as the exercizzy is still the norm and not the exception, you’re still right on track.
    I find salt affects me way more adversely than carbs. Not sure why that is.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    I didn’t run yesterday because the radar looked like a freak storm was coming (I was right) and didn’t today because I stayed up way too late to get up and go at 5:30.

    Tomorrow I have to take Dys and Boy to the airport at like 4:30. I can’t decide if that’ll mean “Plenty of time to run!” or “Ye gods, it’s too early to even run at the park! Go back home and go to bed!”

    My pants-falling-down-o-meter is still registering positive, though. I’ve also been trying to cut back just a wee bit on the amount of stuff I shove into my face, which is also helpful.

  4. crisi-tunity says:

    I guess I’ve always had a hard time distinguishing between reasons and excuses. If you listen to my dad, there are never any reasons for not doing something you don’t want to do, only ever excuses. It’s nice to hear that my guilt is unwarranted.

    TB, I’m amused by your meter.

Leave a Reply

