Attack mode…

My training plan is set and it should be buried due to some kind of freak injury in about eight weeks, but…

The local 1/2 Marathon is now on the agenda for this upcoming Labor Day Weekend.    Since my work day is much longer…leaving the house at 5am and getting home between 6:30 and 7:00 pm, training should be a challenge.

My training of choice has normally been longer and slower runs, but I just don’t have that kind of time, but I need a challenge…of a physical nature.

I am already working on a few new creative writing challenges that are showing some signs of promise and making me some extra money on the side as a bonus, so why not throw $75 away on a long run on the hardest concrete ever made.

I have run on a lot of surfaces, but the concrete on the boardwalk is definitely built to last and the only break you get from the concrete is when you are running on the asphalt, which is softer…but only because it melting under your feet.

But I will love every second of it and get a shiny medal and t-shirt as a prize.

Challenges are what drive me and it has taken me a few years to figure out that I am happiest when I am chasing something.

During baseball season, I remember telling the kids that I would rather see them go down swinging at a questionable pitch than to stand there and watch a god one go past them.   To go up there and attack the ball since they were the one up there with the bat.

I adopted that line of thinking when I signed up for the 1/2 marathon two years ago and things have been looking better for me…despite a decrease in pay and an increase in hours with the new job.

I am the one carrying the bat…

I am in attack mode.

6 Responses to Attack mode…

  1. Kimmothy says:

    “Challenges are what drive me…I am the happiest when I’m chasing something.”
    WHOA, I think you just made me have an epiphany about myself. And it didn’t even hurt!

  2. Tiffany says:

    And once again, you make me WISH I were a runner.

    • It really isn’t about running at all. I am in “attack mode” in life too. Make something happen instead of letting “it” happen to you. You don’t have to attack eveything all at once. My career is kind of in cruise mode as I establish myself locally in my hobby which is already evolving into writing stuff for others. I actually have considered carrying a recorder with me when I run…my brain works better then.

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    The VB boardwalk? You’re not kidding, that’s some particularly hard concrete.

    Good luck, man, I know you’ll knock it out!

  4. crisi-tunity says:

    I barely remember the boardwalk, but as far as I remember, TB’s right, that’s some serious business. I know you’ll do great.

    • Thanks. I guess they build the stuff to handle a hurricane…and being blasted by sand. It can handle tourists eating hotdogs on it during the day and underage kids throwing up on it at night…rinse and repeat.

Leave a Reply

