Afternoon Quickie

Just a few quickies:

– As much as I try not to be a slave to the scale, it does help to see those numbers slowly but steadily decreasing. But when I’m stuck at or around one number for a few days, it does start to mess with my mind a little. I believe it’s too soon for a plateau but at the same time that’s what it kind of is by definition, so I’m trying to do a couple of things to push past it. Hopefully it won’t stick around too much longer.

– There’s no delicate way to say this. No matter how much roughage and vegetables I add to my diet, my body apparently still takes issue with letting go of the waste, if you know what I mean and I think you do. Thank God and/or medical science for the wonder that is Miralax. Stupid poopy.

– The weather is doing two things: (1) making it very, very easy to consume nothing but water and (2) making it very, very difficult for walking outside, which has been the main form of exercise I’ve been doing so far. I’ve literally had to force myself to wait until almost 8pm every night before starting off on my treks. Which, okay fine. I’m hoping all that extra sweat will add up after awhile and then I’ll be able to appreciate something, ANYTHING, about this hellish heat wave we’ve been saddled with the last few weeks.

– I still really want a bicycle and I believe that will be my first reward to myself once I reach a legitimate milestone. We have some serious hills in the neighborhood that I’d be interested to see how I’d handle on a bike.

– Lastly, a question: Do any of you guys ever use ankle or wrist weights for when you do walking, running or cardio? I’ve been using 2 lb ankle weights and I don’t know – do you think it matters? I figure I have them so it couldn’t hurt, but I also feel like a dweeb with them on. Like some poseur who’s walking, not running and not wearing cool work-out clothes or hundred dollar sneakers or something. Not that I honestly care what my neighbors think. I don’t know.

Either way, things are moving right along despite a little less activity on the scale and the potty.

4 Responses to Afternoon Quickie

  1. crisi-tunity says:

    When I eat salad, my diarrhea gets worse, so as sure as I am that being backed up has its own pains, being in a constant diarrheaic state for weeks on end is pretty annoying.

    I used ankle/wrist weights exactly once, on the treadmill one time, and I felt like such an idiot that I resolved never to do it again. I’m sure it actually does do a lot of good in terms of calorie-burning, so I think if you’re seeing some good you should keep at it. But as a personal choice, no.

    • Kimmothy says:

      God I’m so glad I’m not the only one who feels that way; I’m actually more embarrassed than is probably warranted, but for the good of the calorie burnage, I’ll keep it up.
      Yes, after a week or so of no poop it starts to get very uncomfortable.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    This isn’t what I expected from a post titled “afternoon quickie!” *puts the hand lotion away*

    I haven’t been on a scale in months. I’m a little curious, but mostly I think I’m going to stay away a while longer. It would really suck to have that number be higher than I expect it to be, and I’d prefer to keep my motivation tied to other indices in the meantime.

    8pm? I’ve waited until 8:30 or 9 just to walk the damned dog. It’s disgusting out there. I’m mopping the sweat off of my forehead with the front of my shirt before I’m done with my first mile – and that’s before sunrise!

    I’ve never used wrist/ankle weights, but I assign no dork index to their usage. Go for it.

    And for the record, afternoon quickies will always be the best form of exercise IMHO. Most efficient, perhaps not, but it’s sure no struggle to stay motivated!

    • Kimmothy says:

      Yes – my double entendre worked!
      I really, REALLY want to get away from the scale, but for now I think that’s going to be my main source for marking progress. I know deep down it’s inches that count (that’s what she said) and hopefully soon I’ll be able to see more improvements in that area.
      I am so looking forward to when one of my walks doesn’t include the possibility for passing out from heat exhaustion.

Leave a Reply

