Timing

Well, pooh. I’d hoped to be much further along in my fitness goals (read: how I look in the mirror makes me go “yay!”) than I am right now. I have a little over two weeks until my Maine vacation and I’d hoped to be much more svelte. But two things threw off my progress, and therefore the timing of pre-trip svelteness. One, I threw my back out and had to take about a week off from working out. Two, I had the Essure procedure and am in the midst of taking another week off from working out. And three, during both of those periods of time off I was (am) an emotional eater.

So at this second in time, I am trying valiantly to limit my caloric intake, since I’ll be idle until Friday. Then when Friday rolls around I have to “ramp up” my workouts, instead of just jumping in full swing to the level I was at before. So, really, I’ll only have a week or so of solid workouts before we head to Maine. It’s not for a particular reason that I want to be fit for Maine, really; it was just a seemingly-achievable goal at the time that I set said goal. Now, it isn’t.

And that kind of bums me out.

5 Responses to Timing

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    Injuring yourself by going too hard too fast after your back injury and surgery would bum you out a lot more.

    Don’t be so bummed you can’t enjoy yourself!

  2. crisi-tunity says:

    Agreed with TB. Adjusting goals because of life happening does not mean that you fail.

  3. Kimmothy says:

    I’m sorry for the setbacks, but the big picture is more important and we have to keep remembering this is a journey, not a race. Easy for me to say when instant gratification is my downfall, but I’m trying to practice what I preach too.

  4. Tiffany says:

    You guys are kindness personified. Thanks so much for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

