Lesson Learned

Between this blog and my other, I’m sure I’ve mentioned somewhere I suffer from hypothyroidism. If not, I’m officially saying it now. This was discovered during the course of all the testing I had done during the fertility process (pretty much the only useful thing to come out of that whole deal). I was put on the medication Synthroid and instructed to take it EVERY DAY. As in, and this is a direct quote, “If your house is on fire, run back in and grab the bottle.” Okay then. I was also told I’d most likely have to take this medication for the rest of my life. Not a pleasant thought, but whatever – we all know I’m not afraid to take a pill, ha-ha, ZING!

Brian however, is not totally accepting of this idea. It upsets him to think of me having to depend on something like this from now on. He thinks there has to be a natural alternative, some kind of vitamin, mineral, vegetable, animal – anything would be better than something synthetic. I got offended, which wasn’t his intention but sometimes happens anyway, and told him I trust my doctor and for the eight bucks it costs a month I’m okay with this.

Then, a little over a week ago, I ran out of the meds. I called the doctor for a refill and was told she would be out of the office for the next week. For some reason instead of requesting someone else to call in the prescription, I thought, Whatever – I can wait. Maybe Brian’s right; maybe I don’t need this stuff anymore. I’m on such a roll with the healthy living; this’ll be fine.

Meanwhile, I continued to do what I’ve been doing – diligently exercising, consuming vast amounts of water and keeping count of my daily calorie intake. For almost a month this combination had been very successful with slow-but-steady shrinkage. I was losing between 1.5 and 2 pounds a week, very reasonable and satisfying to me.

But then, dun-dun-DUN, something started happening. The scale stopped moving. I figured okay, fine – the first of the dreaded plateaus must upon me. I didn’t let it bother me (too much) and kept on keepin’ on. Healthy food, daily exercise, water, etc. Then something else happened. The scale started going back UP. Like, steadily. Even with the very slight weight training I was doing, I knew it wasn’t that. My non-bathroom using may have also been contributing, but still that couldn’t be all it either.

It finally occurred to me as I was taking a shower and frightening clumps of hair was falling out (another awesome side-effect of a jacked-up thyroid) I realized it had been nine days since I’d last had Synthroid. I felt like punching myself in the mouth. But instead of doing that, I called for the prescription refill and picked it up yesterday morning. I asked the pharmacist about it and he confirmed what I already knew: I need to take the medication every day. Missing one day wasn’t *too* big of a deal – he actually advised NOT going into a burning building to retrieve it – but missing a week is definitely ill-advised. In that short amount of time my metabolism was again messed up.

The good news is it’s quickly fixable and I’ve noticed even just after two days things seem to be back on track with the scale and my hair and things in general. The bad news is that I’ll most likely take the medication every day for the rest of my life.

I’m okay with it.

4 Responses to Lesson Learned

  1. crisi-tunity says:

    I’d be okay with it too. Scary.

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    My mom’s been on it since I was a little kid. Of all the things to take for the rest of your life, I think Synthroid is way down on the stress list.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I know three other women on it too. My doctor told me the statistic is like one in seven women have thyroid issues. That’s a crazy number but I tend to believe it.

Leave a Reply

