One Month In

Today is the 30-day mark of my journey back to fitness and so it seemed like a good time to note some thoughts.

– I did some form of exercise for 30 minutes or more every day except for two. I’m pretty sure the last time I managed that was…uhh, never.
– I’m not following any sort of “diet”; all I’m doing is keeping my calorie intake to between 1300 & 1500 every day and trying to keep it balanced with a variety of fruit, veggies, protein, carbs and of course some fat. Just common sensical type stuff.
– I discovered I enjoy exercising outside a lot more than inside, and that’s saying something at this time of year – a time I usually leave the comforts of a/c only when absolutely necessary.
– Kelloggs Fiber Plus cereal and chewy bars are my new reasons for living. Seriously amazing.
– I still can’t hack oatmeal or skim milk.
– One cup of coffee in the mornings, water all the rest of the livelong day. On one occasion a Diet Coke and another day one glass of sweet tea. That’s my complete beverage report for the last month. Holy crap.
– I would rather go without mayo altogether than use anything “lite,” which is what I’ve been doing.
– Surprisingly (to me) that doesn’t apply to all things however; I’m totally fine with some lower calorie cheeses, breads, salad dressings and most shocking of all, Splenda replacing sugar in coffee. I know artificial sweeteners aren’t great but compared to other things I’ve ingested throughout my life, I’m pretty sure it’s quite alrighty.
– I confirmed what I pretty much already knew: My style of eating is I’m a grazer and not a pile-up-my-plater.
– I’ve lost a little over five pounds, which puts me at 155. I was hoping for six but after a week of being derailed with the whole thyroid debacle, I’ll take it. Damn straight I’ll take it, yee-haw!
– Physically I’m a little lighter. Emotionally I’m so much lighter I feel like a helium balloon that was accidentally let go by a sticky-fingered little kid who’s now hysterically crying and reaching for the balloon, but it’s too late because I’m already floating high above and away from the foul-smelling, steamy city and now I’m over rolling green fields dotted with sunflowers and daisies with a big goofy grin on my face and whistling Walking on Sunshine with…nevermind. Wow.

Basically I’m really really happy.

13 Responses to One Month In

  1. crisi-tunity says:

    Happy for you! Yaaaay! I feel like that balloon after I eat healthy for a while too.

  2. Tiffany says:

    How absolutely stunningly wonderful for you!!!! You are my new inspiration, since I’m having to pretty much start alllll over again, AGAIN. Bill saw the numbers on the scale at the doc’s office when he took me in for my procedure, and I about died of embarrassment. Dammit.

    • Kimmothy says:

      Brian hasn’t seen any numbers on my scale yet and won’t, if I can help it, until I get pretty close to where I was three years ago – 125.

  3. These are changes that stick. I am growing to hate inside exercise more and more everyday. Five miles outside is easier than three miles inside…except I can watch a baseball game when I am on the treadmill…

    This is really cool! I think I exercise so I can continue my Mt Dew habit without blowing up!

  4. Kelsey says:

    I’ve thought about buying one of her dvds

    • Kimmothy says:

      I swear I’ve never gotten as good a work-out in any gym that the Banish Fat/Boost Metabolism gives. I’m sure it’ll get boring like everything else, but I’m glad to have it in rotation for now.

Leave a Reply

