For the record…

I was about to clear out my iPod’s timer log this morning when I decided to hold off.  I use my iPod as my stopwatch for my runs, and I hadn’t cleared it for several weeks.  I suddenly thought, “Hmm, maybe I should keep a record of this…

3.5 mile runs

June 23 0:44:14
June 24 0:42:20
June 30 0:41:11
July 2 0:39:49
July 7 0:40:49
July 8 0:40:57
July 12 0:39:27

6 mile runs

June 26 1:08:19
July 3 1:11:24
July 5 1:07:27
July 10 1:07:23

The 3.5 mile times are slow, definitely, but it’s also a seriously hilly 3.5 miles, so I’m comfortable with relative suckitude there.

The six-milers are somewhat deceptive, since I have to cross a highway and there may or may not be a wait involved there.  The six-mile runs essentially start with the hardest part of the 3.5 mile run, and end with a relatively long flat section, a long steady hill, and then another mostly flat (slightly uphill) segment.

Know what else makes a big difference?  The temperature.  It’s a hell of a lot easier to keep going when it’s 70 degrees versus 80…

But there ya go.  My times are now out there for the world to see whether I’m getting any better or just spinning my shoes.

6 Responses to For the record…

  1. Tiffany says:

    Huh! That’s cool data to have.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      Yeah, now I kinda wish I hadn’t been clearing the logs for the first few weeks. Not that the times changed all THAT drastically…not after the first two weeks, anyway. 😉

  2. Don’t worry about times. It is like looking at the scale if you are trying to diet. Just log some miles. I have a GPS watch that I use to hurt myself when obsessing about times. I started that obsession on Saturday…I’ll be hurt in a couple of weeks.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      Point well taken.

      I’m not really obsessed with it – I don’t beat myself up if I don’t improve every time – but it does serve as a good “attaboy” when I do improve.

  3. Kimmothy says:

    I’m so inspired by this.

Leave a Reply

