Post Vacation Report

Baskin Robbins’ double scoop of chocolate chip in a regular cone.
Nachos and Southwestern Egg rolls from Chili’s.
Chocolate & strawberry sundae in a waffle cone from an old-fashioned ice cream shop that serves real Hershey’s ice cream still.
Pizza and mounds of antipasto from Angelo’s.
Wild berry smoothie from McDonald’s.
Filet o’ fish & fries from McDonald’s.
Another Baskin Robbins trip.
Favorite pasta salad from Ruby Tuesday’s salad bar.
Burgers. Mac & cheese. Hell, even some beer – woowoo!

Let’s put it this way: I was NOT looking forward to getting on the scale this past Monday morning. Because like all best laid plans, or at least mine, the ONE thing I wanted to do for keeping vigilent while on vacation – bring my scale – I forgot to do. And while I did manage to get in some form of activity every day – swimming, walking, a six-hour back-to-school shopping marathon – I was purdy darn nervous at how much CRAP I’d consumed over the course of the week.

I’d hit the two-month mark Saturday, so I know what the pattern has been anyway. A little weight comes off, I fluctuate back up a half pound or so, stay the same for a few days, then a little more comes off. It’s been quite a SLOW (but steady I guess) process. So I couldn’t fathom the damage I’d done going so far off the rails as far as crazy food, not enough water and no calorie tracking.

But! I got on the scale like a brave little soldier and was shocked. I weighed exactly the same as what it was the day I left – 149.8. I had to step off and step back on a few times to convince myself. I know it’s shallow to be this happy over something as trivial as this, but seriously? I can’t help it. I finally feel like some of the work and sweat and more work is starting to pay off. I’m excited.

5 Responses to Post Vacation Report

  1. crisi-tunity says:

    That’s great news! I’ll bet your metabolism stepped up to the plate. 🙂

  2. Taoist Biker says:

    Good deal!

    I’ve not been running much at all these past two weeks because the heat advisories have been on just about around the clock. I may not have made all the right food choices (whistles innocently) but by and large I think I’m still doing pretty well, and I’ll get back into the swing of things in a week or three when the school-year routine shakes itself out.

    So I’m likewise a little nervous about scale-related issues…but I’m going to take your example to heart and not let it derail me completely!

    • Kimmothy says:

      I think I finally learned the valuable lesson that it’s okay to go crazy for short (and necessary) periods of time, as long as you know you’ll get back to business when it’s time.

Leave a Reply

