Running Through

In all my obsessive reading about exercise and nutrition (like most of us I think, when I get into something I really get into it) I’ve come across a lot of information regarding plateaus. One thing that caught my attention is the fact that supposedly your first big one usually occurs around the point when you’ve lost roughly 10% of your body weight.

Guess where I am.

Logically I knew this was coming; emotionally it still pretty much sucks all flavors of ass. Figuring my vacation week into it, for almost three weeks now I’ve been fluctuating between 147 and 149. And while I know a two-pound range isn’t something to lose my mind over, it’s still hellishly frustrating, especially when I’m still doing all the things I’ve been doing all along that have met with success. I read these stories about people who get stuck for MONTHS ON END and it makes my blood run cold (how many calories does blood running cold burn I wonder?).

I’ve also been reading (obviously) up on ways to break through the plateau and I’m ready to deploy some stuff. Increasing and changing up the exercise. Increasing water consumption and decreasing salt intake. Playing around with the daily calorie consumption. It all makes sense and this is why I’m not panicking (yet).

The first idea is adding some running into my walks. While I hate it with the heat of a thousand suns, I’m pretty sure it’s a good idea. And I love the idea of it – the health and beauty benefits, the endorphin high, the self-satisfied and condescending tone you’re able to take when talking about how you “just got back from a run,” or you’re “looking forward to a good run later,” or any line where you can casually add the word “run” into it. My father-in-law runs five miles every morning and has for years. He’s in his mid-sixties and in very good shape for his age or any age. Well yeah but he also reads the Bible every morning too, so it’s probably not best to compare. So far I can’t claim to have actually “run,” but I’m working on it. In the meantime it’s more of a walk + jog = wog type thing. I plan to wog again tonight and weather permitting, quite a few more times over the next week, hopefully progressing into more legitimate actual running soon. Just writing that hurts a little.

But hey nobody said this was supposed to be easy, right? If it was, this blog wouldn’t exist and that would be sad. I’m willing to do whatever it takes to break on through to the other side of this little obstacle. Bring on the sports bras and shin splints.

6 Responses to Running Through

  1. Debbie says:

    So, so glad to find this site using my tag surfer! I just started a blog yesterday so I am green as grass but this is exactly what I am looking for……real blogs with real people who are struggling like I am with this fitness thing! I definately plan on following you guys for awhile! Glad to know I am not alone!

    ~Debbie

  2. Tiffany says:

    I. Hate. Running. With the white hot passion of a thousand suns. HATE. So more power to you if you manage to develop a habit of it! I’ve heard it does wonders, but I… just CAN’T. So, now I have Zumba. I’ll write a post about it later – suffice to say, I was SOAKED with sweat by the end of the class. Good luck, my love!

  3. Taoist Biker says:

    It hain’t easy.

    I’ve always hated running, as well. HATED HATED HATED. I can’t begin to tell you.

    But as I think I’ve said, just being out there and not going in circles in a small room with people looking at me all the time was strangely effective on my outlook on the whole process. I seem to resent the distance-goal “I’ll run from here to there” a LOT less than “I’ll run until the clock reads X.” It seems less…arbitrary, even though it really still is. I dunno how to explain it.

    When I started working on the 5k back in May, I couldn’t jog more than about 100 yards without stopping to walk for 200. I was able to improve that a LOT faster than I thought I’d be capable of doing. (Even if slacking off for a few weeks has me doing a lot more walking, percentage-wise, again. Argh! Reasons to keep the momentum going!)

    But by all means, give it a try. If it doesn’t work, something else will.

    • Kim says:

      You’ve been a big source of inspiration for me and yes I agree totally with how being outside is so much more enjoyable (even in hellish weather) than running, walking or jumping in place.

Leave a Reply

