Stuck Like Chuck

What? Oh, hi! *Steps off scale*

Don’t mind me; I’m just a little obsessed distracted lately, as I come up on the three-month mark of my little journey here.

The first two months were really cool – well, cool is a relative term, as I spent most of that time trying to burn off calories in the sweltering Carolina sun. But I’d call it a successful period of time, as I learned to love walking in my neighborhood, was consistent with keeping track of everything I ate and managed to lose about thirteen pounds. I cleaned out my closet and was giddy every time I fit into something I hadn’t been able to wear over the past three years. Things were going well.

And then…screeeeeach – everything came to a grinding halt.

For the past month, I’ve remained steady at some number between 147 and 149 pounds. I have a digital scale, so I’m able to obsess note every day in my weight journal what number I am that day, down to the eighth of a pound. Or tenth? I don’t know – math is not my strong suit. For the first two weeks I was alarmed, then moved onto being amused and now I’m just confused. I know logically there’s been some fat replaced by muscle action going on. Something is shifting around in there, obviously, or I wouldn’t have been able to wear a pair of size 6’s the other day (whoo, that was fun).

I’m frustrated, but I haven’t given up. No, actually quite the opposite. If anything, I’m more determined than ever to somehow find a way past this and keep moving toward my goal. I’m more confident now with food choices and exercising is so much a part of my routine I feel weird if I miss two days in a row. I know the number on the scale isn’t the total picture. But still it’s…a little upsetting to see the same numbers day after day.

I’m going to try to kick it up a notch as far as switching up my work-outs, but if anyone has any advice, any tips, any thoughts AT ALL on this plateau subject, I’d be really appreciative if you could share.

*Tiptoes down the hall in a wide circle to avoid stepping on the scale again*

2 Responses to Stuck Like Chuck

  1. Tiffany says:

    Hmm. All I can say is to make a change. Sometimes eating MORE and working out a little LESS bumps your system enough to start the weight loss again. Have you been severely cutting back on the calories? Your body might be stuck in famine mode (holding onto the weight because it thinks there’s a food shortage). If you’ve been doing the same workout for a long time, your body might be used to it, so it might be time to switch things up. I know what works for me is a South Beach-esque diet. No bread, no potatoes, no corn, no beets, no rice, no baked goods or snack foods. Only lean meats and cheeses, lots of veggies, and beans. Limited fruit because of the sugar content. Tons of water.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I’ve been trying to vary my calorie intake – one day 1500, one day 1250 – stuff like that. I think right now the key is really ramping up the exercise and adding more weights into it. My lagging metabolism needs a shot in the damn arm.
      THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

