Here’s my 2011 workout schedule

I’m still in the process of honing my list of 2011 goals, dreams, and resolutions, but I have come up with a workout schedule that I believe I can stick with. Last year didn’t really go so well in the weight loss department, and I came to a conclusion. I was acting like a rabbit when really I’m a turtle. I would go fast and furious in great spurts, then I would look at how much I had accomplished and take a nice loooonnnng nap under a tree. After all, I DESERVED it, after all my hard work. The problem was that my naps and the snacks under the tree outweighed the spurts of activity, as evidenced by my weight loss goals not being met for 2010.

So, now that I’ve figured this out, and I am fully ready to embrace my turtle power, I came up with a plan. I know that consistent action is the key and that phrase is part of my mantra for this year. My word for the year is BRAVE, but that’s another post on another blog. So I have come up with the 30/30 workout schedule. I’m going to lose 30 pounds and I’m going to do it in 30-minute increments, consistently.

I recently had a massive schedule change for work, where I no longer go in at 5:00 a.m. Now I go to work at 9:30 a.m. With careful planning this allows me to go to the gym in the morning after I drop my girl off at school and before I start work. One of the biggest obstactles to my goal has always been lack of time. I always felt that if I couldn’t put in an hour, then what’s the point?  Well, the point is consistent action. So now I shoot for shorter increments….at least 30 minutes. My new schedule is as follows.

Mon:  8:30-9:30 elliptical + nautilus

Tues:  8:45-9:15 -dog jog. I have 2 dogs and take them separately.

Weds:  8:45-9:15 elliptical

Thurs:  6:15 a.m. Pilates or 7:00-8:00 elliptical + nautilus

Fri:  8:45-9:15- dog jog.

Sat:   11:00 a.m. Yoga class or a home activity…biking, walking, etc.

Sun:  Off

Also included in here is daily ab work in front of the TV at night and also evening dog walks with the family. Something almost every day for at least 30 minutes. So far, I lost 2 pounds last week, and that was a week that included 2 drinking nights (not heavy, just wine at art events but that adds up), 1 dinner at Olive Garden (bread-friggin-sticks!) and being led astray down the chocolate chip slice-and-bake path by the husband. Not every week will be like that, but some will and I am not very good at deprivation. It feels good and balanced and like something I can stick with…My goal is 30 pounds and I’d like to feel good in a bathing suit this summer! I’ll keep you posted.

One Response to Here’s my 2011 workout schedule

  1. Tiffany says:

    Sounds like an excellent plan! Good luck!

Leave a comment