Salty

Question.

Apparently not only do I have a raging sweet tooth (I could blame it on past drug use and the after-effects of not taking them anymore but sadly the tooth has been with me all my life), but I also sometimes need salty and crunchy as if my life depended on it. I know everyone is different, but for me salt has an immediate and very bloaty effect.

TB mentioned that beef jerky helps him out in times of cravings. Do you guys have any other suggestions as to what I can shove down my gullet when the salty/crunchies come calling? So far I’m dealing with it with peanuts and Chex Mix, but already those things are getting old and anyway the Chex isn’t so great in the sodium department as it is.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

In the meantime, I’m managing to drink oceans of water every day – wheee! (And peeee!)

13 Responses to Salty

  1. Taoist Biker says:

    The other thing I used to use for cravings is peanut butter. Like the jerky, a little protein goes a long way when you’re ravenous. But that won’t do much for the crunchies, I’ll admit.

  2. crisitunity says:

    I just try to ignore it. Savory is by far my downfall – much worse than sweet. So I know that if I give in and eat the Doritos, I will have those amazing BBQ spirals tomorrow and it will all get crazy and I’ll wake up in a pool of Frito-Lay products and filthy sodium-tinted sweat.

    I know that’s not very helpful. But this is one of those things I just DON’T give in on.

  3. Jean says:

    Corn Nuts. Don’t know ifyou have them in your part of the country, but they’re super crunchy (translate – almost like eating salty little toasted corn flavored rocks)and it never takes more than a handful to satisfy both my cravings for salt and crunch. Even if my stomach wants more, my mouth protests.

  4. Jean says:

    One more thing you guys might find interesting – I read an artical a few months ago (I think from some obesity think tank at the NIH) that studied a group of people trying to lose weight and it found, overwhelmingly, that maximum weight loss was achieved by a 300-500 calorie per day reduction in intake, combined with moderate exercise. The gist was that any more than 500 calories, unless you’re SUPER ACTIVE, slows your basal metabolism by up to 50%. The old ‘you’re starving me, so I’m banking the fire’ reaction in your body. Less than 300 calories had zero effect, even over long periods of time and more than 500 kicked in the survival mode. Evidently, our bodies don’t have any problem with snatching a little body fat to supplement requirements, but totally resist using more. It made a lot of sense. I spent a week eating what was for me at the time normally and tracking calories (the pudge maintenance plan). Then worked at reducing by 400 a day. And boy has it worked. I’m down about 30 lbs. since late last October.

    • Kimmothy says:

      I find this to be true for me too – and just keeping track of calories helps me be more aware of what I eat all day, which is way better than the mindless munching I was doing before. I still believe less calories in/more calories out is the best way to go, period. At least that’s how it is for me; I know a lot of people don’t agree with that.

    • Taoist Biker says:

      I know it’s true, but personally I have a LOT easier time adding the exercise than I do cutting the food. Because the way I exercise tends to make me ravenous (especially for protein).

      But 30 pounds since October? That will get my attention in a hurry! That’s fantastic, Jean!

  5. […] The busiest day of the year was January 28th with 58 views. The most popular post that day was Salty. […]

  6. My Page says:

    You are can be a great internet marketer. Your website filling swiftness is actually extraordinary. The item almost can feel that you’ll be performing just about any unique tip. Also, Your items will be masterpiece. you have done a fantastic action in this particular theme!

Leave a comment