Starting Slow

January 4, 2010

My goodness, we’ve all been slacking slackers with all the slacking around here! I foresee a resurgence of posts with the new year, though. I plan on posting over here more, anyway.

So, at this very second in time I weigh 152 pounds. My goal is 130 pounds by the time I go on sabbatical, which is the first week in June. A not-unsurmountable task. I’m getting started slowly, reminding my body what it’s like to eat healthily and get exercise. Yesterday I took the dog for a walk for about 45 minutes. Today I did the elliptical for 20 minutes and did some light hand weights – curls, flys, presses, triceps. I had yogurt and granola for breakfast, a salad for lunch, and we’re having curry chicken and brown rice with veggies for dinner.

Rather than obsessing with the what and the when and the how much of it all, I have three simple goals for this, the first couple of weeks of re-bandwagoning. 1 – Exercise every day, even if it’s only for 20 minutes. 2 – Don’t eat bread (just bread – sandwich bread, rolls, and the like). 3 – Eat fruit and veggies every day. That’s it. That’s all I expect of myself for the next two weeks. Later on I’ll (maybe) count calories and pay more attention to carbs vs. protein vs. fat. Later on I’ll come up with a specific workout routine that focuses on specific areas and goals. Oh, starting up the vitamins again, too. Multi, fish oil, vitamin D, glucosamine, vitamin C, calcium.

Right now it’s all about reminding myself of how to take care of myself.